We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portland Harbor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Portland Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Portland Harbor Hotel
468 Fore Street, Portland, ME 04101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Portland
Hollis, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at the Portland Harbor Hotel for our anniversary.

Pros:
The hotel is in a great location. It was central to all the shopping and downtown restaurants. We walked everywhere, and never needed our car. If anything was too far, there was a complimentary town car service. The concierge service was a nice touch. He was very knowledgable and recommended places for dinner. The hotel was very clean (kudos to the housekeeping staff) and tastefully decorated.

Cons:
We booked our room through the hotel when they were running a deal. I don't think we could have afforded it otherwise. We were in a queen room. It was clean, but very very small. The bed was TERRIBLY uncomfortable. We woke up with sore backs each morning. At night, the outside, street noise was really loud. It woke us up several times. I guess the noise wouldn't have bothered us so much had we been sleeping on a more comfortable bed. But the two combined for a restless night.

Overall, the hotel was beautiful, and in a perfect location in downtown Portland.

Perhaps a suite would offer a more peaceful, comfortable nights sleep...if you can afford it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for the compliments about the Staff. We share all TripAdvisor reviews with our team because we take pride in what we do. Your compliments are greatly appreciated.

I regret that you did not have a good night sleep. Our beds are high quality custom mattresses made by a very well known brand and were recently replaced throughout the hotel in February 2013.

We offer many specials during the winter months, including special offers on suites. Please visit our website frequently or sign up for our newsletter to take advantage of our special offers.

We thank you for staying with us and we greatly appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    179
    54
    39
    16
See reviews for
109
364
32
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The Portland Harbor Hotel is close to everything! We parked our car on Friday night and didn't use it again til we left on Sunday. The staff was super helpful and very friendly. The turndown service with chocolates was a nice touch.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at the Portland Harbor Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed it, and the chocolates too. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Well maintained with friendly efficient staff.Great location. Wish I could have stayed longer.I definitely would return.I had to cut my visit short and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.I've stayed in other hotels in Portland but this is by far the best.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Portland Harbor Hotel. We also hope that next time you can stay longer. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I was looking forward to staying with my wife in a 2013 Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence hotel. The Portland Harbor Hotel promotes this fact at their hotel as well as their website. This hotel is very nice and our room was well-decorated and clean. However, my issues are more with the attitude of the staff and management which are not consistent with a premier hotel. We only had one night in Portland and it was my wife's birthday. I called the concierge earlier in the day asking for a restaurant recommendation and she recommended a restaurant outside of the Old Port District. I was surprised the concierge did not recommend the hotel's restaurant which we understand is highly regarded. The restaurant hostess acted as though we did not have a reservation and after a considerable wait we were finally shown to an unacceptable table (a subject for another review). We left the restaurant and eventually had a substandard meal at restaurant close to the hotel. Upon our return to the hotel, we did go to the front desk manager and explained what had happened. While she was sympathetic, she couldn't explain why the concierge didn't even suggest their own restaurant and made no effort of any kind to address our poor experience. When we checked out the next morning we were not asked if we enjoyed our stay. Upon our return home, we received a survey which I completed very thoroughly explaining my issues with the concierge while also complimenting the valets who were very good. That was over six weeks ago and I have not received any response from the hotel manager. Based on our stay, the hotel concierge, staff and manager are not concerned in providing an exceptional customer experience.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I agree with you, our staff should recommend our restaurant. However, many of our guests get upset when we suggest Eve's at the Garden when the reason for their inquiry was to find information about other local options. We will address the issue with our team. We regret your experience with a local restaurant was not satisfactory. I will also look for your survey and apologize for not being in touch sooner. Please feel free to call me directly with any of your concerns.

Thank you again for your business. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The Portland Harbor Hotel is centrally-located with nice clean rooms and a friendly staff. I only stayed for one night but I would definitely return! Stay in one of the garden-view rooms if you're there for the weekend. You don't hear the street noise.

Room Tip: If you're there over a weekend, get a garden room, you don't hear the noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We're glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to return. We hope you do too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights. Shower door seal needs to be replaced but the bed is comfortable and the room is clean. Food is good in dinning room. I have stayed in better but would return and try a different room. Honeymoon suite is where we stayed.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a single night as part of our New England road trip. Payed the same price as our lovely 5* hotel in Boston and twice the price of the previous night in a very good hotel further down the Maine Coast. Don't understand how this can be (we did have a third party book for us & we assumed there'd be a reason for the pricing - now can't understand it!)
Centrally located hotel in pleasant small town. The concierge, David, gave great advice.
The room here was generally fine and the bathroom was a very good size (but the shower leaked) but I have 2 issues.
Firstly, why is it necessary to charge $16 to park. Had I realised I might have tried to save myself this fee. The sum does seem excessive for such a small town. Grumpy valets.
Secondly - noise. The plumbing and heating systems are very noisy with pipes seeming to cross the ceiling but worse than that was the acoustic from our neighbouring room. The occupant was quiet but I could tell what he was watching on TV, when he was using the bathroom and exactly (yes, exactly) what he was doing in there - not good enough!
Finally, the 'turn down' service that we heard (noise again) in the corridor seemed to miss us.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay. I'm sorry to hear about the noise from the pipes, we will check into that immediately. The fees for parking are standard for downtown Portland. In our instance we lease the garage space, we do not own those spots. I'll pass along your praise to David, our concierge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portland Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Harbor Hotel

Address: 468 Fore Street, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland's only AAA rated 4 diamond hotel. Amenities include a 4 Star restaurant with available 24 hour room service, 24 hour valet services, spa treatment rooms, professionally certified concierge service, and full fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick and Travelocity so you can book your Portland Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Harbor Hotel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.