We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hotel for our weekend getaway...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Portland Harbor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Portland Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Portland Harbor Hotel
468 Fore Street, Portland, ME 04101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Portland
Norwood, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“The perfect hotel for our weekend getaway...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

The first thing you need to know about this hotel is that they stand behind their product and will work with you to make your experience at their property a wonderful one. Located exactly where you want to be in the Old Port, the PHH offers quick access to outstanding restaurants, coffee shops, galleries, and shopping. My wife and I love the fact that they offer a complimentary sedan service to the local area. Though we would walk to dinner, all we would do is call the car when we were settling our bill and they were there before we knew it. Also, when you compare apples to apples, the PHH is an outstanding value as rooms at the chain hotels nearby are just as expensive, not centrally located, and don't have all the perks. With a new hotel being built accross the street and the historic Eastland being converted to a Westin, the PHH will need to continue stepping up the service in order to remain relavent.

Room Tip: Having stayed in another area of the hotel on a previous visit, we prefer the rooms in the executive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    179
    54
    39
    16
See reviews for
109
364
32
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel is located in the old wharf area in Portland within walking distance of great shops and restaurants. The rooms were large and nicely furnished; service was excellent. The only downside was we could hear everything the people in the next room were saying. It wasn't a problem as the other guests were not up late talking, but it was kind of distracting during the evening and morning hours. Otherwise, a very nice place to stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay, we are glad you enjoyed the room - and we will see what can be done about hearing the people in the next room. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbertsville, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

If upscale is your travel preference this is a must. Room furnishings very tasteful & comfortable. Location is in middle of historic area & convenient to great shopping, sports bars & sightseeing. The staff was amazing. On each hall is Starbucks coffee to start the day highly recommend the hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the service, the room and the Starbucks coffee. I will be sure to let the staff know. Thank you for sharing your compliments. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Booked about a month ago and had several confirmations as trip got closer. Hotel very conveniently located near harbor and restaurants. We had problem with our room phone and received a nice credit for our trouble. Excellent free coffee service provided on each floor at 6am, with green mountain coffees and tea. Unusually spacious room and bath. Unfortunately no massage service available on Monday or Tuesday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed here last minute - paid less than $300/night. Hotel right in the middle of the action. Went to several bars (ginkgo blue, grace, etc) and came back around 2am. All walkable distance. Key card to get back into hotel (nice touch as it is right in town). Bed (king) was comfy; bathroom was gorgeous. Enjoyed the 'wood' flooring instead of typical carpet.
My favorite part? The restaurant. Lattes and smoked salmon bagel. Fantastic.
Will happily stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thanks for your recent stay, it sounds like you had a good time and got to explore quite a few places in the Old Port. I'll let the Chef know how much you enjoyed the breakfast.

We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Charming, old world hotel with excellent service and accommodations only two blocks away from the wharf where you can take a trolley tour of the city as well as a boat tour of Casco Bay. The rooms at this hotel are either old world elegance in the original building, or high tech sleekness with floor to ceiling windows in their new addition. We stayed in the Executive Suite in the new addition with the double jacuzzi tub with a glass wall that could be opened or closed so you could see the bedroom from the tub, a shower with two shower heads, double sinks, and a two sided fireplace where you could see the living room from the bedroom and conversely, the bedroom from the living room.The suite was not large, but it had everything you could want. Cleverly done. One nice touch, they brought you a thermos of hot coffee with all the fixin's in the morning. All you had to do was call down. Took just 10 minutes to get and it was totally complimentary. Never had that before.
On the way back from Bar Harbor a week later, we stayed here again in the Double Jacuzzi room in the old section. Very charming beautifully furnished large room with a view of the interior garden. If noise bothers you, then I would suggest a garden view room. The Executive Suite faced Fore Street and you could hear people walking and talking when the bars closed. But I am a city girl and love the sounds. The hotel is only about 5 stories I think.
But what we really loved was being able to walk everywhere from this location. The Art Museum, the trendy shops on Fore Street, the T-shirt shops and curio shops on Commercial Street.
We had breakfast almost everyday at the hotel restaurant, Eve's at The Garden, which is just excellent. See my review of it separately. They do have an exercise room which we scrupulously avoided, but it looked very nice. I do not know about a spa because we do not use those either.
This hotel is about to get some competition when the Hyatt opens in 2014 - they are building it diagonally across the street from the Portland Harbor Hotel. The Westin is also refurbishing a hotel not that far away. But I would always stay at the PHH for it's beauty, elegance, helpful and friendly staff, location and divine food. A chain hotel is a chain hotel. There is only one Portland Harbor Hotel. Yum.

Room Tip: If you want modern and hip choose an Executive Suite in the new addition. Get the highest floor you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience at the hotel on two different nights, we are glad you enjoyed both of the suites you stayed in. We agree, independent hotels do have a special feel to them, thanks for saying so!

We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Arrived late afternoon & checked in. The reception staff were OK, but a little stand-offish - weren't the usual "hello, welcome to the Portland Hotel, have you had a good journey" etc., etc., whereas the Bell-hop guy was really friendly, asking about our journey, telling us about the area/restaurants. We were already booked into one of the restaurants he suggested - The Back Bay Grill - & he told us that we could use the hotel car if it was free, nothing was too much trouble for him. The room was beautifully maintained & the hotel in a great location. In the evening we had cocktails in the lounge, which had a lovely intimate feel to it. In the morning, we had a delicious breakfast. The food & the service very warm & welcoming. On leaving, my husband went to check out, but the reception guy kept referring to him as someone else from another room & kept printing off the wrong room invoice. The reception guy was getting quite flustered & when my husband finally got the correct invoice, the receptionist more or less said "is that everything, right, bye". No sincerity or have you enjoyed your stay, or enjoy your journey/holiday. Maybe the Bell-hop guy & the restaurant staff should train up the reception staff. However, that said, we would definitely stay again, it was a lovely hotel, beautiful room & very comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GKiladjian, General Manager at Portland Harbor Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the visit and will share your feedback with the front desk, we definitely want everyone to feel a warm welcome from all of our staff. We'll be sure to pass along the compliments to the bell boy and the restaurant staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Portland Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Harbor Hotel

Address: 468 Fore Street, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland's only AAA rated 4 diamond hotel. Amenities include a 4 Star restaurant with available 24 hour room service, 24 hour valet services, spa treatment rooms, professionally certified concierge service, and full fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Portland Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Harbor Hotel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.