We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Portland Harbor Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portland Harbor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Portland Harbor Hotel to your Saves list
Portland Harbor Hotel
468 Fore Street, Portland, ME 04101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Portland
Milton, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Portland Harbor Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Excellent value and so well located to enjoy a terrific part of the City and Old Port area. The staff are terrific and the Hotel itself is a first class properety. I will be back on my next trip into town and highly recommend it to anyone considering a visit to Portland ME.

Room Tip: First or second floor looking into the garden courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    179
    54
    39
    16
See reviews for
109
364
32
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

You're paying a premium price, but man: this is what a hotel should be. Great location (right in the heart of Old Port), convenient, on-site garage parking, extremely comfortable rooms, great service and a winning attitude from every hotel employee we encountered... honestly, this was easily the best hotel experience I've had - anywhere - in many long years.

Room Tip: Everything you've read about staying in a Garden-facing room? Justified. Old Port gets pretty li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco, Maine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed in the Portland Harbor Hotel for our graduation with my husband and had probably the best time in a while. The location of the hotel is amazing - right in the heart of Old Port, which is the downtown area of Portland, ME. Everything that we were looking for to do in the city was a very close walking distance. So we parked our car with amazing guys in the valet and did not have to worry about parking any more. The valet took care of our luggage and gave us a ride to Fore Street restaurant with a complementary town car because I was wearing very high hills.
The city has a lot to suggest to the tourists crowd and those who are looking to simply have fun.
We went to the nightclub 51 Warf and had a blast there.
As for the rooms they are very cozy. Harbor Hotel is the only one in Portland, I think, that has wooden floors in each room, which was perfect for me, since I am very allergic to dust.
The other amazing service that the hotel provides is the concierge. We had a chance to meet both concierges and those are the best people I've ever meet in my life. So personalized and educated, I had a great pleasure talking to them. They recommended me couple restaurants, and a night club. For breakfast we went to Porthole, and couldn't have a better experience.
A cup of complementary coffee that the hotel serves every morning was very helpful after a long night out.
We had a lot of interaction with the hotel staff and were not a single time dissapointed. Everyone was very helpful and well informed about the area and the hotel. We want to go back again in summer and we'll certainly stay only at the Portland Harbor Hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the Garden are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We had an outstanding weekend at the PHH. We bought a RueLaLa certificate which included the stay, drinks, breakfasts and parking. From the moment we pulled up the hotel treated us with amazing service. They were friendly, proactive, and every interaction was as excellent as the previous.

Several days after we left we realized my wife had left her handbag behing in the room closet. We called the hotel and not only did they find it, but they shipped it back to us FedEx at no charge.

The only downside is that our room faced Wharf St with the loud club music at night. However the hotel told us about this before we booked - so it was no surprise. It didn't bother us that much anyway.

Lastly, Portland was a wonderful city to visit. There were tons of people around the streets, we walked a ton and really enjoyed our visit.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012 via mobile

1st class, elegant, the perfect spot to relax in Portland. Bonus-they have a free car service to take you around. Awesome!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Portland Harbor Hotel is ideally situation in the Historic district to pubs, restaurants, museums, waterfront you name it. The front lobby is elegant and warm. The staff works very well together from the valet service to the front desk to the restaurant. One has the impression that they are all connected and this makes the establishment ooze professionalism. The room we stayed in was modern, clean with a touch of old hotel romance minus the old hotel part. A good solid selection and would return without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We just had a wonderful one-night stay at the Portland Harbor Hotel. This was our first hotel stay with our dog, so we were a bit timid when we arrived. My husband waited at the hotel entrance while I went to check in and make sure we could bring her through the lobby. Ruth, at the reception desk, could not have been nicer, and she immediately asked, "Did you bring your dog? Bring her in, I have a treat for her!". At that point, we knew we were in a great place! She also provided a list of dog-friendly things to do and places to go. The room itself was comfortable and clean, the location was wonderful in the heart of the Old Port area, and we really enjoyed our little getaway. The only downside was our stay was too short!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Portland Harbor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Harbor Hotel

Address: 468 Fore Street, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Portland
#4 Family Hotel in Portland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland's only AAA rated 4 diamond hotel. Amenities include a 4 Star restaurant with available 24 hour room service, 24 hour valet services, spa treatment rooms, professionally certified concierge service, and full fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick so you can book your Portland Harbor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portland Harbor Hotel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland Harbor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.