We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Congress Bar & Grill

Congress Bar & Grill
617 Congress St, Portland, ME 04101
1 207.828.9944
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #102 of 540 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Although this seems like a bit of a local dive spot, the food was great. We ordered the Greek salad with calamari and the pulled pork quesadilla. Both were delicious and had some left to take home. Service was also great.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    18
    6
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Dependable with Occasional Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This was my umpteenth time at this restaurant. The food and service are fast and friendly. I still call this place "Norm's," like many of us do who remember it in its prior incarnation. However, the food has actually improved since then, though the atmosphere is essentially the same: darkly lit with a nice, unpretentious ambiance...... and for a "straight" bar and restaurant..... there are always lots of gay guys around. I call it the "gayest straight eatery in the city." This makes for a fun party atmosphere, yet the bar is separate from the dining room, so one can 'get away' a bit more if one wants to- though not from the festive noisiness altogether. I went with an old friend on Pride evening, and surprisingly it was rather "straight" in there. One just never knows!

On this trip I ordered the yummy calamari appetizer. My friend had a good size chicken burrito with all the fixings. Both were very good. But I started with the creamy lobster stew with grilled baguette on special (and finished it). I was gastronomically pleased and surprised by how delicious this stew was- and not too salty. There were claws and big chunks of lobster meat in there! It was so convincing that my friend didn't hesitate to order his after the fact. The waiter was pleasant, competent and handsome, and when the ordering went to 'late night menu only' we weren't sure we could get another order of the stew.... but our waiter came through and earned himself a nice tip. That stew was truly outstanding. Another great meal at this place who's new name I dislike.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, Maine
1 review
“BEST Place Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We go here at least once a week for the mussels, sweet potato fries and more. Never has there been a time where the food was not perfect. Great prices and people watching!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterboro, Maine
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“I love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

If you're looking for a place with great cocktails and really good food, come here! Everyone is very friendly, and the menu is very creative as are the daily blackboard specials. I just had a spinach salad with the best fried oysters I ever had. My companion had the fish and chips, and he was blown away by the quality and portion size.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newfields, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“J & T 0209”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Fabulous fish and chips. Delicious steak salad though it could have used less red cabbage and more romaine. We were seated early--5 p.m. Our meals arrived at 6 p.m. Our server was friendly but not overly attentive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Congress Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Congress Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Congress Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.