We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dull, Drab, Dreary, & Dirty” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Percy Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Percy Inn
Save
You added The Percy Inn to your Saves list
15 Pine Street, Portland, ME 04102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 13 Portland B&B and Inns
albuquerque
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Dull, Drab, Dreary, & Dirty”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This inn desperately needs some TLC, but that's not a priority for the Absentee Landlord, who is never there! At least, we never saw him. A small and young housekeeping staff do their best to keep things up, but they work without any supervision. The breakfast is always the same - if you don't eat it today, the exact same thing will be served again tomorrow. You won't get a fresh breakfast. Carpets are old, dirty & smelly. At least one shower had mildew. Routers are ancient. Rooms are dusty & heavily perfumed to hide the staleness - if you're prone to asthma, you may not be able to breathe. Decorating style is 1970's frump. Mattresses are saggy. There's a deadly electrical outlet in at least one bathroom. There's also constant trash on the sidewalk in front of the inn - it's never picked up. This could be a wonderful b & b because the location is great, but the owner just doesn't care & is negligent about his property. If you want to stay in a Portland b & b, consider one of the others on nearby surrounding streets that are clean, fresh, bright, & also give you a home-cooked breakfast.

Room Tip: The second floor room overlooking the street has a wood floor, so maybe it's cleaner than the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    28
    29
    20
    17
See reviews for
13
75
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here while in Portland for a wedding and I was a bit nervous after reading the reviews. However, our stay was quite nice. The location was perfect, close to the arts district and plenty of great restaurants. The B&B itself definitely had its charm. The innkeeper was very nice and very helpful. There were plenty of nuances: the squeaky bed, the loud pipes, the death trap leading up to the 3rd floor, no pad on the mini ironing board, flickering lights in the bathroom, outlets not working, and a pointless TV. However, these were not enough to ruin the charm and the beauty of the building, the delicious pie that was served during breakfast, the awesome smell of the linens, and the beautiful outside patio.

Room- We stayed in room 302, which was nice and spacious. The shower was advertised as a two person shower, and it was, but it was a little small. The mini fridge was stocked with complimentary sodas, which was great. The mattress was a bit on the softer side, but was comfortable.

Overall, I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, USA
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Percy Inn on Pine street in Portland is one of the most authentic modern colonial places to stay when in New England. The attention to detail in recreating a lovely and comfortable room to spend the day or night is awesome.

Dale the owner was a hotel critique in the days before Trip Advisor and he knows all the little things that any inn keeper or hotel operator ought to pay attention to in order to make guests
both comfortable and content.

We enjoyed a cold bottle of chardy while sitting traditional NE chairs in the garden...
we'd gotten lobster and huge shrimps from Farm Fresh on the waterfront -- a very casual and delish happy hour.

Our room included candles and a lighter, east access Internet and a bountiful breakfast.
The staff was very affable and answered all our questions. Great neighborhood too!

Room Tip: Much better place to stay that the typical motel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed at the Percy Inn in May while traveling in Maine with my parents. I found the inn online at the last minute (we didn't know which day we would be arriving in Portland) and was impressed by the website. Because we booked the evening before arriving, we got a great rate on the rooms.

Our rooms were clean and satisfactory (although lacking in electrical outlets near the beds for charging phones), and breakfast was fine (mostly an assortment of breads). The two ladies running the inn - doing the housekeeping, arranging the breakfast, and checking guests out in the morning - were extremely friendly and accommodating. We did not see the "innkeeper" a single time during our stay.

However, I don't think I would stay here again because I was VERY disappointed in the lack of communication - on the website, when I called to book the rooms, and in the confirmation email - about there being no elevator and steep, narrow, winding staircases to our 3rd floor rooms (in fact, he didn't mention at all that these were 3rd floor rooms when we booked them, and I didn't think I needed to ask since I didn't know we'd be climbing staircases to reach them). The booking confirmation email did specify the following: "Please keep in mind as you pack, we are innkeepers not teamsters, but we’re able to provide “guest totes” to lighten the burden of heavy suitcases, though your steamer trunks are best left for transatlantic crossings unless you’re traveling with a longshoreman." Perhaps it should've been obvious - from this statement and from the fact that this is a converted rowhouse - that there would be no elevator, but in my opinion it was misleading to not state this fact clearly on the website and while I was making my reservation, in case this would prove problematic. While we managed with the stairs and lack of elevator, we likely would've found an alternate place to stay had we known about the elevator situation, since my parents are getting older and stairs - especially steep ones - can be challenging for them.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Upom arriving we saw this beutiful front room that would be a great place for guests to sit and read and maybe get to know about each other, too bad it is only a show room that is blocked off. We stayed in room #102 the interesting thing about the very dusty room (you can grow plants on the venitian blinds) was that in the middle of the room there was always a round wet spot during the 3 nights we spent there that was always soggy in the very old wall to wall carpet. The wet spot went well with the water damaged caving in ceiling of the bathroom. I also noticed the wall A/C's filter was completely disgusting as was the grime and filth where the "clean" air came out. I have been traveling for over the last 3 weeks and and I only stay at B&B's, this B&B was by far the worst and was extremely over priced, particularly for the room we stayed in. if you like to stay at B&B's with the owner onsite - this is not the place for you. The staff is great and very nice, the owner needs to provide TLC. I would not recommend anybody to stay in room #102. Oh, and by the way room 102 also shares a common door with the kitchen which is also a common room and you cannot sleep past 7am because of the workers in the kitchen. Very sketchy bars across the street. Thumbs down for sure.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

What a disappointment. The owner was nowhere to be found during our entire stay. The place is dated and is dire need of some TLC. The location is one mile from the waterfront shops and is in a less then deseriable neighborhood of Portland. The bathroom ceiling had paint that was pealing off and had a very dated look. The two young ladies running the Inn were great! Always smiling and cheerful and ready to help! They were the brightspot of a very dated and overpriced B and B

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The Percy Inn is a classic old house that has been converted to a B&B. If you like rooms that are all alike, elevators, room service, full service restaurants, etc., then stay at a hotel. If you like places with a story and "character", then you might like the Percy Inn.
The Percy Inn is on the west side of downtown Portland. We usually just walked to wherever we wanted. It is under 1 mile from almost anything in downtown, the wharf, etc. Since you have to pay for parking in downtown Portland and because the Percy Inn had free parking, we typically left the car at the Percy Inn and walked. When we wanted to go further away, we discovered the Percy Inn was very centrally located. For example, we drove about 10 miles north to visit a covered bridge (Babb's bridge) and then wanted to go visit the lighthouses on Cape Elizabeth. The GPS picked the best route between the two spots and we passed within 50 feet of the Percy Inn! There are dozens of good restaurants within about a 5 minute walk of the Percy Inn.
The building dates to the 1800's, but has been modernized in most aspects. However, the floors are not completely level, there is no elevator, the stairs between the 2nd and 3rd floor are steep, narrow and wind! The rooms are like most B&Bs: strange combinations of previous rooms that have been combined to create a bedroom, bathroom and whatever else fits. (More on rooms in the tips section.) The inn has fire sprinklers throughout, smoke and carbon dioxide sensors, external fire escapes, etc.
Dale (the owner) is typically not at the B&B, but is local and reachable via the B&B telephone number. The breakfast staff and cleaning staff are around during the day to handle any questions or issues.
The Percy Inn has a few strange policies that seem odd -- until you think through them. For example, each room has a refrigerator with soft drinks. You can drink however much you want for free -- if you leave the can! If you take the can, then they will charge you $1.50 each. Why? Because people would empty the refrigerator when leaving. Likewise with the soap, shampoo and conditioner bottles. They provide 8 to 16 ounce bottles that they refill daily. They do not expect you to take these. If you do, they will charge you.
Breakfast is mostly cold items, but a good selection. They usually had a pie, fresh bread of some type (such as blueberry), lots of fresh fruits (such as blueberries, grapefruit, grapes, strawberries, etc.), fruit juices, milk, cold cereals, yogurts, etc. They had a toaster (no microwave) and good selection of breads, bagels, muffins, etc. with butter, jam, cream cheese, etc. The only hot "meat" item was boiled eggs. They also had hot water and coffee. Some items are available 24 hours a day.
We had a great time at the Percy Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful, the guests were are very pleasant to talk to during breakfast and the location could not be beat!

Room Tip: There is only 1 first floor room -- #102 -- Emerson. It can only be accessed from the back patio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Percy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Percy Inn

Address: 15 Pine Street, Portland, ME 04102
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
The Percy Hotel Portland
The Percy Inn Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Percy Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.