We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, nice service, limited menu, especially drinks,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Schulte & Herr

Schulte & Herr
349 Cumberland Avenue, Portland, ME
(207) 773-1997
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 552 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, nice service, limited menu, especially drinks,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Been back twice, as a group of four we ordered everything on the menu for breakfast and then lunch. happy with everything, except the dumplings were a little flourier tasting.
Good prices
clean
small and comfortable
reserve your seats!
I would not bring small children as the menu may not have anything to their taste if they are picky.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    17
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent German Food Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

With all the ethnic food choices in Portland, we were glad to see this German restaurant among them. We went on a Wed. night and were surprised to see how full the restaurant was. Glad we had reservations. Food was delicious and service attentive and friendly. Prices on low side and BYOB makes for an inexpensive dinner out. We definitely will be going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunks, Maine
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Origin of Comfort food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

After a couple trips to Deutschland, this was a great find in Portland to get our brat fix! The Ginger Molasses Cake with Maple Whipped Cream was to die for! We will definitely go back.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

 I had high expectations for the potato pancakes and was disappointed in the tiny  silver dollar pancakes that were not like the ones I was craving and the price jumped significantly with the addition of cured lox by a whopping 4 bucks. Unfriendly service, maybe just a bad day .

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Better than in Germany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

What an amazing find, thanks to tripadvisor! We had the Schnitzel (a unique version with anchovies, capers and egg) and the Sauerbraten - outstanding. Everything tastes the way it should, just better. The sides were all carefully prepared, Bratkartoffeln, red cabbage, Knoedel (potato dumplings - homemade, we think) were all completely authentic and delicious. My German mother and grandma couldn't make it better. You can't beat the value. The interior is not really "gemuetlich" but the outstanding food and friendly service more than make up for it. We are so happy that places like this still exist, will come back for sure.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schulte & Herr also viewed

 

Been to Schulte & Herr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schulte & Herr, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.