We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slice of heaven...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Micucci Grocery

Micucci Grocery
45 India St, Portland, ME
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 540 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Restaurant details
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“slice of heaven...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I am a maker of homemade pizza myself, so for me to write and tell you that the slab of pizza made here is worth it- just trust me! Recently I went to Micucci's to grab a quick lunch and waited in a short line to purchase three slabs, one for myself and two for the boys at home. I had not had this pizza in a few years, and it was just as delicious as I remembered it! It is worth the wait, as the man in front of me shared! Sweet tomato sauce on delicious dough, nothing is better! Not even my own pizza! Bravo!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    27
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Scarborough, Maine
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Everything you need in an Italian market”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Well stocked and the pizza is FANTASTIC! Be sure to grab a slice after perusing the aisles.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellertown, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Fine Italian Deli”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Fgteat stop to get fresh meat and produce Prices are fair quAlity high

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
280 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“PIZZA IS THE STAR HERE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

And there is nothing "interesting" or "average" as other TA writers have stated (no offense). Its simply incredible. Of course anything and everything the "master baker" Stephen Lanzalotta makes is out-of-this-world delicious (you have no idea) and if slab pizza is your game then Micucci's is your name. Plain (hardly) and simple.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Best pizza ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

The dough is the best I have ever had. Such great texture and flavor. Made by hand by a master baker. The sauce is so tomato-ie. I am not really a huge fan of tomato, but this sauce just bursts flavor into your mouth. Read the real reviews of the real locals on Yelp and you get an idea of the pizza & bread wizard that works his magic here. Oh yes, the deli is amazing too. They have everything Italian & very high quality. Ordered 3 different cheese and an imported Prociutto sliced paper thin. Very yummy.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Micucci Grocery also viewed

 

Been to Micucci Grocery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Micucci Grocery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.