We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   209 Fore St, Portland, ME   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Boston
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Fine hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night on business. A fine hotel, friendly though young and somewhat inexperienced staff. Room was clean. Free wifi was great. Good location just on the edge of downtown. Expensive for what it was but I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

785 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    493
    241
    38
    9
    4
See reviews for
177
349
25
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My wife and I spent 2 nights here during our driving tour of New England. The staff are very friendly,efficient and helpful and the hotel is kept spotlessly clean. A complimentary breakfast was provided which was of good quality with a good range of choice. Also, there was complimentary in room wi-fi which is seen as a 'must have' now in most hotels. My only negative comment concerns the valet parking which of course is not complimentary. The hotel has a large open car park in which guests could easily self park. The cynical side of me sees the valet parking as just a means of making more money. However, over all, we were happy with our stay and would almost certainly stay here again if we ever come back to Portland ME.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This hotel isn't really ON the waterfront, but it is only a block away. The room was very nice, with a huge flat screen TV (which we never turned on) and a nice breakfast in the lobby. They do charge $15/day for parking, but it is in and out - you can come and go as you please. The staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. A number of good restaurants are a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Home is Hampton, not because I work in a Hampton as well but because I stand in the same position as a FDA I want to be treated the same way as I would with my guest and I got it! This hotel has it! I wouldn't go to Portland unless this hotel is available! It's super cozy and everyone and I mean EVERYONE is amazing! Thanking Ellen for changing my room and I can understand that ventilation isn't too well and neither is it in my hotel but that's business supply and demand. If people want smoking rooms you provide them but I'm sure it going to be removed soon. Smoking isn't good for you! Overall this hotel is just amazing! I personally recommend it!!! "Hamptonality starts with me!" :)

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden, Maine
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

I had family come visit from overseas, with a late Portland flight arrival, so we wanted to stay somewhere before driving back to Camden the next day. The Hampton Inn turned out to be a great choice, even if we couldn't make use of all its amenities and advantages, such as the location, which is great if you want to be close to ferry, restaurants, shopping etc. - plus it's easy to find from I 295. I checked into the hotel before heading to the airport, because their flight was even later than expected, and the front desk staff was very friendly, helpful, and professional. They suggested I take the hotel shuttle to the airport instead of trying to find my own way (which was actually more complicated than expected), pick them up, and return by shuttle. That would've been great, but since I still had no firm ETA from the airline and the shuttle would stop running soon, I had to take the car after all. Both front desk and valet person were very nice explaining the parking situation etc,, which despite the valet issue (no self-parking) was uncomplicated and casual. The room was great - modern, well-equipped, super clean (with a sign saying they wash all bedding for every guest, including the bedspread), with fridge and microwave, a large bathroom, and very comfy beds. The gym, which we used the next morning, was decent - a few cardio machines plus other equipment - and so was the pool, although the latter could've been a tad bigger (if i remember correctly, it made a bigger impression on the website). The breakfast was fine, with some of the usual suspects but still better than in a few other chain hotels, plus an extra coffee station open at other times of day (including at night). The coffee machine in the room was not impressive, but with the other coffee options, that didn't really matter. Very friendly staff throughout!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverville, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Excellent location-near Old Port shops and restaurants. Friendly, helpful staff. Very nice room with a very nice view. The breakfast was typical of "free" breakfast fare. All in all, I would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona beach, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The service given here is the Greatest! The saying you get what you pay for is what you receive when you stay at Hampton. if want to be treated like King or Queen this is the place to stay. When you enter the world of Hampton you got to the best you can enjoy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Address: 209 Fore St, Portland, ME
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#2 Family Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® Portland/Downtown - Waterfront hotel is nestled in the city's Old Port District and offers breathtaking views of lovely Casco Bay and the historic waterfront. Stroll along the cobblestone streets as you explore the many boutiques, museums, galleries and bustling cafes. There's so much to see and do within walking distance of our Portland hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Hotel Portland
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.