We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay at Hampton Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   209 Fore St, Portland, ME   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay and Dine Package
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Portland
Metuchen, NJ
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Nice Stay at Hampton Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Very nice hotel in downtown Portland. Easy to find. Enjoyed the complimentary breakfast with hot options: scrambled eggs, sausage, potatoes one morning and bacon and bagel/egg/cheese melt served open face. Enjoyed the belgian waffle too. The room was very nice. Had to check out and recheck in for business so the second night I had the King accessible room with a large glass doored shower stall, which was very nice and preferred over the tub/shower curtain combo. One negative was the $15 per day valet park fee. Portland is not that big a city that overnight parking should be at such a premium.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    225
    34
    8
    4
See reviews for
157
329
25
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

This hotel offers a convenient downtown location. The hotel appears to be relatively new, so is in excellent condition. The staff was so friendly and helpful. The room was very nice. The bed was so comfortable. I would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My son and I were in the area visiting colleges and had a very good experience with the Hampton Inn. The room was quiet and comfortable, the staff very helpful with dinner recommendations and assistance with printing documents, the breakfast good, location ideal!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed at the Hampton in downtown Portland while in town on business. I was very impressed with the staff. Everyone was friendly and helpful. When I checked in they noticed I came in a taxi and went out of their way to help me use their complimentary shuttle to get to and from my meeting the next day and back to the airport. The location is right next to the historic section of downtown and the waterfront. The hotel itself is clean, modern and nice. Full hot breakfast in the morning. The only small thing is the bed was not as comfortable as I hoped. But overall, very good. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My stay was everything plus more from what I learned to expect from Hampton Inn. Great, friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms and a short walking distance the the best restaurants in Portland. Loved it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed with a friend for one night and was really pleased. The rooms are business-like but very clean. We had a corner room with large windows, but you could close the curtains and it was dark and quiet, or just have a light curtain to let in the light. The pool is small but the right shape (rectangle) for really swimming, towels provided. The breakfast had scrambled eggs, omelets, and fresh fruit. A small detail was one I appreciate. The bathroom was quiet for showers and getting up in the night! We walked to the Portland Flower Show (small but nice), then walked to local restaurants and, the next morning, the Old Port shops. Good value that honored AARP discount, also.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kittery Point, Maine
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This hotel is the best for location, friendly staff, nice breakfast, and comfortable beds. Definitely one of the better Hampton's inn of the region, and in my opinion second only to the wells Hampton inn because there you can find better rates on occasion.

Room Tip: I like all of the rooms. It is too bad that they do not have room service, then this would be a perf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Address: 209 Fore St, Portland, ME
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® Portland/Downtown - Waterfront hotel is nestled in the city's Old Port District and offers breathtaking views of lovely Casco Bay and the historic waterfront. Stroll along the cobblestone streets as you explore the many boutiques, museums, galleries and bustling cafes. There's so much to see and do within walking distance of our Portland hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Hotel Portland
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.