We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were upgraded to a suite to celebrate anniversary, wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   209 Fore St, Portland, ME   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay and Dine Package
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Portland
New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We were upgraded to a suite to celebrate anniversary, wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We were celebrating anniversary with overnight stay in Portland, ME. The wonderful desk clerk upgraded us to a huge suite with beautiful view of waterfront. Everything about the hotel was great, clean, comfortable bed, and complimentary breakfast. Located adjacent to the Sebago Brewing company was great for a late night cocktail before returning to our room. We were able to walk to all of the shops, restaurants, and destinations we planned to check out during our stay. We also took a swim while staying and the pool area was also very nice. Would highly recommend this hotel for anyone staying in the Portland area. Also, we were able to leave our car in the valet parking until 3 pm the next day and were only charged one day of valet parking ($15), that is a real deal for the Portland area, with staff looking out for the cars 24 hours a day. Don't hesitate to stay here, friendly helpful staff and great hotel.

Room Tip: If it is a special occasion, don't hesitate to ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    225
    34
    8
    4
See reviews for
157
329
25
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Peabody, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I had a team of 9 that stayed in this hotel. Everyone enjoyed their stay for a couple of reasons... Very clean rooms and comfy beds. Lets not forget the free breakfast with staff that truly tries to make it just right. Also as you leave for the day the hotel provides goodie bags on the go!
Great friendly staff and location to all of Portland' s fab dining.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel a few times now and we certainly will stay again. I work for the government so noticed when I stay and seem to always get the same location (next room over) each time. I don't know if this is a coincidence or hotel policy but we didn't mind the rooms at all. The room was very clean, temperature control worked great, and we enjoyed out stay. The hotel location is walking distance to great restaurants, breakfast is pretty good, and the hotel restaurant was quite impressive! Staff is also very friendly and I noticed several staff have been there over a year. We'll definitely stay again when in Portland again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranston, Rhode Island
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We booked this hotel for one night the weekend after Thanksgiving, at the last minute. We were pleasantly surprised with this hotel! The location is within walking distance of the downtown Portland shops and restaurants. The room was very clean, and the beds were extremely comfortable with nice, high quality sheets and mattresses. The bathroom was large and immaculate. Front desk staff were very friendly, as was the parking valet (and we requested our car a few times that evening!) Breakfast was a buffet style, with a nice selection of breakfast foods, including eggs, sausage, waffles, and/or cereal. We will stay at this hotel on our next trip to Portland!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 92 cities Reviews in 92 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had a terrific stay at this Hampton Inn, staying one night the week before Christmas. The location is great: one block up from the waterfront, with all of its restaurants, bars, attractions and on Fore Street with its attractions. The day manager assigned us a handicapped room (unrequested by us) and it was fabulous: huge with a sofa, ottomans, wet bar, microwave, fridge, center desk console with 2 desk chairs and a large flat screen TV that pivoted to be seen from the living area or the bed side. The bathroom was very large with an open shower area. I don't know the protocol for getting this kind of a room if you aren't handicapped (seems crass to request it unless needed) but maybe you can ask for it when checking in. We were on the 2nd floor and faced the harbor area. The view was good but not very private without closing the privacy screens. A higher floor would probably be great for looking out.

The hotel has a small lobby area with seating for the complimentary breakfast which was quite good. It had the usual fruit, carbs, waffle maker and 4 hot food choices along with coffees, juices. The staff were very friendly. I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Handicapped room was huge and comfortable. Ask for a harbor view and on the 3rd floor or higher.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield, Connecticut
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Another weekend in Portland and a different hotel. The staff was friendly, The hotel was clean. Did not need much service but I would think that it would be just as good. The room (5th floor) had a decent view of what the Old Port area extended it to become. High shower-heads in the bathrooms compared to some of the older hotels. Breakfast included the basics, eggs, bacon, bread products, fruit, waffles, cereal, etc. HBO in the room if you have time to stay in it. Swimming pool in the hotel. I don't like valet but did not use the service. Reserved the room thru a web site.For some reason the Hilton could not take reservations online for a few days. I just wanted to add my points. Not the hotels fault. The staff was great. Will stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We had a king suite. The bed and linens were great, the bathroom was nice and large. Big bonus having Sebago Brewing right under the building and not having to go outside to get to it in the cold. Also the complimentary breakfast was great and valet parking was nice. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We didn't stay long so I can't say much about the other amenities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront

Address: 209 Fore St, Portland, ME
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Portland
#1 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#3 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn® Portland/Downtown - Waterfront hotel is nestled in the city's Old Port District and offers breathtaking views of lovely Casco Bay and the historic waterfront. Stroll along the cobblestone streets as you explore the many boutiques, museums, galleries and bustling cafes. There's so much to see and do within walking distance of our Portland hotel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Hotel Portland
Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Portland Downtown - Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.