We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downtown Portland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gorgeous Gelato

Gorgeous Gelato
434 Fore Street, Portland, ME 04101
+1 207-699-4309
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 9 Ice Cream in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Coffee Shop, Dessert, Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Portland's only authentic Italian gelato shop! Welcome to paradise !!
Hendersonville, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Downtown Portland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

On a rainy day the 1st of June we took a narrow gauge train ride that was fun (short but fun). I pictured Ladies in the Victorian dresses of the time. The narrow gauge museum alone was worth the price.
The clam chowder at Becky's was pleasantly warming.
While visiting the nice shops downtown I spied Gorgeous Gelato across the street. On the way back that side of the street is a cupcake shop. We invested in a Lemon cupcake and took it to Gorgeous Gelato to be paired with their chocolate. Perfection!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

750 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    662
    70
    16
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“As good if not better than the best of Europe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Had seen the reviews but had to visit it myself. Wow, truly the very best I have ever had. Creamy, smooth, bold flavor and the nicest staff around. A must stop if you are in Portland, Maine

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian style Gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

Touring through Maine, we were stopping at all the #1 TripAdvisor food spots by city. This one did not disappoint. Having been to Italy, pistachio is what I judge all gelatos by and this one stood up to the test. Good texture, not too sweet, intense flavor. Coconut and hazelnut were also great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Magnifico!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Visited Portland last week and our family insisted we stop at Gorgeous Gelato. Being Italian and loving gelato, we could not refuse. We were waited upon and served promptly and enjoyed some great gelato.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gelato to die for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Best gelato we've had outside of Florence, Italy! Try the gelato filled cannoli! You'll want multiple stops to satisfy your sweet tooth!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gorgeous Gelato also viewed

 

Been to Gorgeous Gelato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gorgeous Gelato, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.