We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good and worth a try” 4 of 5 stars
Review of East Ender

East Ender
47 Middle St, Portland, ME 04101-4213
207-879-7669
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
East Ender is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #108 of 540 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $29 - $31
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: India Street
Description: The East Ender offers new American food with bold New England flavors. Chef Mitchell Gerow appreciates the philosophy of nose to tale cooking. He sources products from local farmers and purveyors. Quality local ingredients allow East Ender to create a menu from scratch and present it in an approachable and affordable way. Seriously good food in a seriously casual environment. A neighborhood meeting place to enjoy house cocktails, craft-beers, and wine that caters to the cuisine. Our menu offers seasonal snacks, salads, sandwiches, entrees and desserts.
falmouth, maine
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Really good and worth a try”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Been there twice before and liked it; went to Sunday Brunch today. Funky place on a small restaurant row next to the legenary Duck Fat and near Ribbolita. Friendly, good service. I had part of a blood orange mimosa which I thought was unremarkable and then a Bellini, which came in a somewhat smelly glass and was otherwise unremarkable. O for 2.
I had a sensational mac an cheese with bacon and onion rings, and it was top tier. Other dishes at the table were smoked lamb and Montreal Hash. Both were very good. home fries with onions were also excellent. Reasonable price/3 people 3 drinks, coffees, mains and one side with tip was $97.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    25
    11
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent local cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

This restaurant was recommended by a friend and definitely lived up to its expectations. Great locally sourced and prepared foods at a reasonable price in a very cozy atmosphere.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

Our family dined at the East Ender recently. While there is no children's menu the staff was accommodating, and overall the service was excellent. We enjoyed the crab cake and wing appetizers, these were both tasty. We had several excellent meals including the Lobster Poutine and steak. The lobster roll was average. The only meal that disappointed was the brisket. I would recommend this restaurant.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“upstairs downstairs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

we eat here every time we are in town, very eclectic eatery with a ever changing fun menu that's just a bit different than what you expected (no matter what you expected), try the stuffed egg appetizer to see what I mean, always check the board for specials, very good beer menu, we usually eat upstairs but have tried both up and down without incident, always friendly service

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Avoid brunch”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Not a good brunch experience at all-out of beer I ordered that they told me they had, eggs done not as asked, home fries undercooked and flavorless, really bland and uninspired considering the rest if their menu during normal hours. Hate to say it was a waste if money but this Sunday it really was. Service average/hardly there

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Ender also viewed

 

Been to East Ender? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage East Ender, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.