We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot in Portland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portland Regency Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Portland Regency Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Milk Street, Portland, ME 04101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Special Internet Rate
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Spot in Portland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed here from a tuesday-thursday in the first week of April. The hotel has an awesome location - with many restaurants and shops within walking distance. It's in the center of old port, cobblestone streets and all. The room was a good size, had all the standard amenities and some extras (bathrobes, ipod docking radio etc.) and the shower in the bathroom was one of the nicest I've seen for a standard room.

The hotel fitness area had more equipment than any hotel gym I've seen before. To get to the gym, you have to go through the spa, which means you can use the spa locker rooms, hot tubs and steam rooms, all of which were extremely clean and well maintained.

We had dinner at the armory lounge one night - it was actually pretty busy for a hotel bar. The food off the bar menu was decent - I especially liked the cheese plate as a late night snack.

The hotel provides valet parking for about $12 a night, which is really useful since there isn't a lot of parking in the old port district. You can take your car out and have them park it again and they'll still charge you just for the day.

The staff was always friendly and helpful and I would definitely stay here if/when I visit Portland again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    198
    59
    35
    17
See reviews for
71
326
28
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We recently stayed at the Portland Regency while in Portland to celebrate my wife's birthday. We have stayed at many hotels in town over the years (there are many very good ones) and decided to stay at the Regency based upon our past experience there and also because they had a promotion which includes breakfast. We had a room that we really liked but we could not remember number of that room when we made the reservation. Upon arrival we checked in and received our key then proceeded upstairs to find our room. We could not believe it when we arrived at the door of that favorite room! What a wonderful surprise! The room had been updated since our last visit which only made a good thing better. The bathroom is completely new. The shower includes easy to use dispensers for shower gel, shampoo and conditioner. This hotel is just around the corner and an easy, safe walk to one of the best restaurants in Portland, Fore Street. The valet offered to drive us there and pick us up but we decided to walk because it is so close. The next morning we had our breakfast in the dining room near the fireplace. The atmosphere was comfortable, the menu adequate and the service was excellent. It was the finishing touch on another great stay. There are many reasons to pick this hotel. It is priced competitively with the other better hotels including the name brands. It is very solidly built so it is very quiet in the halls and in the room. It is also just one street up from the waterfront and right in the middle of the many great shops of the Old Port. Valet parking is only $12 which is less than other downtown hotels. This hotel is a great choice for anyone wanting to be in town and near the waterfront. It will be easy for us to decide which hotel we will stay in the next time we stay in Portland. It is the Regency for us!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I chose the Regency for an overnight stay as part of our one-year wedding anniversary celebration. When I booked online, I mentioned our anniversay and asked if they could let me know what they offer in terms of amenities to make it even more special. I was thinking I might be able to pay extra for rose petals, etc. I did not receive a response from the hotel, but when we arrived, we were told our room had been upgraded from our standard room to a suite. The suite was lovely. It had a nice "living" feel to it. There was an ice maker, mini refrigerator, and a variety of wine glases and coffee mugs, which, I thought added a touch of class. We loved the fireplace, jacuzzi, deck, and comfortable bed. My only issue was the coffee maker. For some reason, I couldn't get the Keurig to work. The location was perfect in the Old Port district so there were lots of restaurants, shops, and bars nearby. We had dinner at David's - which I will describe in a separate review. (SPOILER: It was awesome.) Finally, regarding the Regency, we took advantage of the valet parking for $12/night. You should definitely check out this hotel if you're staying in Portland. That is all.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Maine
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here fall of 2012 and had a wonderful weekend. It's clean and right in the heart of the Old Port. Loved being able to walk to restaurants and bars. The breakfast in the dining room was wonderful. It wasn't as quiet as we hoped - there was a baby crying next door...but that certainly wasn't the hotels fault. We always recommend this to others. We had our wedding reception here 19 years ago and that was a wonderful experience also. Great staff!!!

Room Tip: Didn't try the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is spectacular. I can't say enough about how clean it is, how unique it is, and you're right in the Old Port within walking distance of everything good that Portland has to offer. You can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for the second time and it was just as wonderful as the first. Homemade cookies upon arrival in the lobby. The staff is helpful, kind and courteous. Simply a class act staff. Highly recommend for anyone thinking of staying in Portland.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

I live in Portland and this is by far the nicest hotel we have here! I've stayed here twice and the the staff is excellent, they upgraded our room for free for the night because they had some open rooms! Nice clean and quite room with a deck that overlooks part of the Old Port. Best sleep I have ever had! The Armory Lounge is right downstairs where the bar tenders are wonderful and the drinks are perfect.

Room Tip: The rooms with the Balconies are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Portland Regency Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Regency Hotel & Spa

Address: 20 Milk Street, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Portland
#5 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#7 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Regency Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Portland Regency Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Portland
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland Regency Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.