We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem in Maine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portland Regency Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Portland Regency Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Milk Street, Portland, ME 04101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 Hotels in Portland
Des Moines, Iowa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hidden Gem in Maine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Recently stayed with a group at The Regency Hotel & Spa in Portland, ME. Great food and great service from the entire staff. Ironically, I did not use the Spa, but did use their exercise room and sauna (at no cost).
If you are from the Midwest and crave lobster on your visit to Maine, go nowhere else! The hotel features, daily, a Crossiant Lobster Roll that is just what you were looking for.
Each day I was up for breakfast and warmly greeted in the restaurant, by my name after the first visit. When my friends arrived, the General Manager was helping unload their bags.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    182
    57
    33
    17
See reviews for
68
311
27
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Missouri
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

My husband and I just returned from celebrating our 30th wedding anniversary in Portland. We had stayed at the Portland Regency one other time and fell in love with it and the area, so decided to come back for a couple of days. First off, I find the bad reviews hard to believe. I love the atmosphere of the hotel...our room being elegant with the tall ceilings and fine linens. It was not at all dated or in need of repair.

When we arrived by cab at the motel on Sunday I quickly realized I had left my wallet in the cab. Everyone at the front desk and concierge sprang into action. (I hadn't realized they would come to the airport and get us, and used this service on departure). Anyway, Sandy started calling every cab company asking if they had just dropped someone of at their Motel, she patiently and urgently called until she located our the cab company. Due to her quick thinking, my wallet was returned and we were able to enjoy the rest of our stay! I can't thank her enough! The entire staff was great!

I would highly recommend the Portland. As stated in other reviews, the location is second to none, the lounge and restaurant are great also. Next time I will try the spa!

Thank you for a wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: We didn't encounter any noise in room 331.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, MD
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011 via mobile

Spa here, but stay elsewhere. The location is the best thing about the hotel. Rooms are dated and offer no seating beyond a wooden desk chair. Valets were friendly and efficient but front desk staff was barely paying attention to guests. The spa was fantastic, though! It must be run by separate management. Disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

We noticed the stains from water damage on the ceiling when we checked into the room, but did not expect to be awakened by the sound of rainwater dripping on the bed all night. The hotel was full so there was no option but to stick it out. Although we were moved to another room the next night, the manager refused to compensate us for a sleepless night and actually had the audacity to insinuate that we in fact were not leaked upon. They "saw no signs of water damage" despite the brown stains and friable plaster along the ceiling. Shockingly poor customer service at an expensive "spa hotel."

Room Tip: Avoid room three hundred twenty five
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMRESPONSE, General Manager at Portland Regency Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
We are deeply apologetic that the room you had checked into was not up to standards. We were surprised to find that you had not notified our Front Desk that evening. If we had been notified we would have immediately sent a staff member to deal with this problem swiftly. As soon as we were alerted to the problem (that morning) not only did we move your room, we sent complimentary Champagne with fresh fruit and discounted your room for any inconvenience. We do take responsibility for the fact that you were clearly inconvenienced and recognize that this is not an ideal situation when staying in a room. We do however dispute your claim that management response was apathetic and that you were in no way compensated. Various attempts were made on the part of the hotel to right this situation. As a full service property with 95 guest rooms, certain maintenance issues are bound to arise. We can only deal with these issues when they are brought to our attention. It is our hope that all of our guests have an exemplary experience when staying at our property and regret that yours was not so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

We had a very nice stay in Portland. The Regency is in a great location. A very classy hotel but also very laidback. Breakfast was very nice. Not one complaint just a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: The Place to eat is J's Oyster House.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011 via mobile

Because the Regency is a converted armory, some of the spaces are a bit unusual. For example, our room on the third floor had only one small window which was actually more of a skylight in the sloped roof. As a result, the room was somewhat dark and there was no view. Next time we'll ask for room on thr second floor where there appear to be real windows. However, the room itself and the bathroom were fairly large and attractive enough, although both could use a bit of redecorating.

The location is fabulous - right in the heart of the Old Port but on a quiet street.

We prefer to stay in independent hotels, particularly historic ones, because they have to much more personality than the chains. So the Regency is our choice in Portland.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

My wife and I did a quick overnight at the hotel without reservations and managed to snag a room at a very nice rate. It is a fine facility with a friendly and useful staff. Their recommendation for a "good" seafood place was excellent (just down the street)....

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Portland Regency Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Portland Regency Hotel & Spa

Address: 20 Milk Street, Portland, ME 04101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#5 Family Hotel in Portland
#7 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Portland Regency Hotel & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Portland Regency Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency Portland
Portland Regency Hotel & Spa Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland Regency Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.