We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Asian Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pai Men Miyake

Pai Men Miyake
188 State Street, Portland, ME 04101
207-541-9204
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 552 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Cambria
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Asian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Interesting menu, lots of choices for vegetarians. Not just standard fare.
Good service, reasonable prices. Very good downtown location.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    34
    16
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Raymond, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great ramen and apps.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Food was really good. The ramen was excellent, apps were excellent but the yakitori potions were tasty but tiny. A fun place.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Thomaston, Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Japanese Food, Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Food is fresh and delicious, beautifully present. Reasonable prices make it a great value. Hip and modern vibe.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“great neighborhood spot!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

Amazing sushi--the ceviche roll is one of the finest things I've ever eaten. Love the pork buns as well! Oddly I have never loved the soups, but that could just be me.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best meals of my life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

If you are looking for authentic, hearty, healthy, gourmet noodles this is your place. My boyfriend and I stumbled in on a cold blustery December afternoon for a quick bite. We weren't disappointed! I had a the Pai Tan (pork & chicken broth topped with pork belly, soy marinated egg, scallion and nori)- I kid you not it was the most delicious meal I have ever had. My boyfriends sushi and noodle dish was equally esquisite. The waitstaff was friendly, attentive and knowledgeable. This place is the whole package, atmosphere, other wordly food options, great draft list and fantastic staff. Can't recommend Pai Men Miyake enough!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pai Men Miyake also viewed

 

Been to Pai Men Miyake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pai Men Miyake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.