We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little museum, lovely little train ride” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Company and Museum

Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Company and Museum
58 Fore Street, Portland, ME
207-828-0814
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 52 Attractions in Portland
Type: Scenic Railroads, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Enjoy a train ride along scenic Casco Bay and Portland Waterfront. Tour the museum with historic two-foot railroad locomotives, cabooses, cars and artifacts. Purchase interesting items in unique gift Shop.Mar/Apr - Open weekends and school vacations.May-Oct - Open Daily.Museum open 10-4; train rides on the hour from 10-3.Museum Admission: Adults - $3. Children 3-12 - $2. Children 2 & Under - Free.Train Rides (includes museum): Adults - $10; Seniors - $9; Children 3 - 12 - $6. Children 2 & Under - Free.Ticket is good all day!
boston
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Lovely little museum, lovely little train ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My husband is a train buff and we have visited train museums and taken scenic rides in the US and Europe. This was one of the best values for the money.

The museum has some wonderful, well-curated artifacts. The ride, although short is incredibly scenic. Our conductor was a retired geology professor from nearby Bowdoin college and extremely interesting. Great sense of humor too.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    35
    15
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Informative, scenic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Visited the railroad museum after seeing it on a sightseeing map of Portland. A $10 each entrance fee gets you entry to the museum and a 45 minute train ride along the coast. The museum gives you a chance to see some early carriages up close and a walk through some of them. The train journey is a trip out and back along the same line, with a driver, conductor and line man. We were quite lucky because we were the only passengers we had a personal guided tour. If you do have children they sometime let them blow the horn if that's of interest. We did give a tip at the end that went to the museum because it is volunteer run.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Ride”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Worth an hour of your time if you are in the area or a train enthusiast. We've been to several train museums & it's not the largest or the best, but I do appreciate the time & effort that the volunteers dedicate to maintaining the trains & museum, and educating us about the history of the railroad. We took the short train ride along the waterfront, powered by the Monson Steam Locomotive #4. The conductor we spoke to was very knowledgeable & graciously answered our barrage of questions. This railway is unique because it is a two-foot gauge railway versus the usual three-foot narrow gauge or standard gauge.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore MD
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Short Ride into the Past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

It's always a treat to ride a train with open cars. It would have been better with a steam engine. It was still a fun ride with excellent narration about the history going back to the Grand Trunk Western and the connection with both the Boston & Maine and Canadian National Railways. It can be enjoyed by anyone old enough to walk or young enough to still walk. The museum visit that was included with the price of a ticket was very interesting. We spent an enjoyable few hours there.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“a real coal train”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was a fun train ride in a real coal train.
A nice ride along the waterfront.
It is a short ride down to the end and back but my train enthusiast husband really enjoyed it. And how often can you rid a real coal powered train.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Company and Museum also viewed

 

Been to Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Company and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maine Narrow Gauge Railroad Company and Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.