We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whaddacrock” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Whaddapita! - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Whaddapita!
408 Forest Ave, Portland, ME 04101-2013
207-773-8111
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Greek
Restaurant details
New York City, New York
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Whaddacrock”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

He should rename his place this, if he ever goes somewhere new. Stellar business man. Didn't like to pay rent or employees and then took it upon himself to consider that everything that was in the building that he was renting was his. The place was always dirty and the food just kind of sucked. The new place that is in that building is amazing. Full turn around!!!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auburn, Maine
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“New versus Old”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Not impressed. Stopped in there in 2012 for a bit to eat and the health inspectors were there ready to shut the place down. Yuck!!! Lost my apetite and left. A bit pricey as well. There is a new type Restuarant in the same location. Very, very clean. Food was great. I could not get over how much less expensive the new Pita Restuarant is as opposed to the old one. Nice to see in this economy!!!!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The food was okay but I have to admit that hearing the staff talk about the fact that the restaurant was closing because the owner doesn't like to pay rent made me and my party VERY UNCOMFTORABLE. The price for the meal was worth it but I could have gone without all the commotion.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, ME
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious, consistent, affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

I'm so addicted to this restaurant! The pork gyro is amazingly well season, and the tzatziki sauce is the perfect compliment! If you prefer something without meat, try the feta wrap. I recommend getting it with the zesty feta dip instead of tzatziki if you like a little "kick"! Don't forget dessert- their cheesecake is light and fluffy, almost like mousse!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Delicious food, friendly servers, noisy outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The eggplant roll up and the falafel roll up were delicious, moist and fresh. They were reasonably priced at around $5.00 each, but were on the small side. We were still hungry so we ordered one more each. One and a half would have been the perfect amount. I always ask for a little extra Tsatziki dressing - yummy and also very fresh tasting.
The staff is extremely friendly. Though self serve, there are servers who deliver your orders to your table and enthusiastically ask if you need anything else. The staff seems to really enjoy working for this small family owned business.
Located on Forest Ave. near the Univ. of Southern Maine and local businesses, the location is ideal, though sitting outside has several limitations: quite noisy and perhaps unhealthy to breathe in the car fumes!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whaddapita! also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whaddapita!, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.