We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nosh

Nosh
551 Congress, Portland, ME
207-553-2227
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #77 of 540 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Description: destination fries, great food
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Creative Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Creative menu, attractive bar, friendly and knowledgeable staff. Who knew cheese fries could taste so good? They were crisp and greaseless, served with pickled red peppers and a spicy red pepper aoli.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    69
    21
    16
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon Falls, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My son and I loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I toke my 6yr old there last week for some dad time. It's was my first time. We had poutine. BLT sliders and fried chicken skin. My son and I both loved the fried skins. He can't stop asking when we are going again. I would say that if you don't eat meat, I'm sorry first of all. But secondly,nosh may not be for you. For me, it was just the kind of fresh spot I needed to shake the dust of. Thanx.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Satisfies your burger & fries craving!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

We came because of the bacon dusted French fries (and wanted burgers) and were not disappointed. The fries were fantastic - cooked perfectly - and we were pleasantly surprised by the burgers (be advised they are cooked medium well but they are juicy). While not necessarily a kids place at night - it is loud and the beer is flowing - we had a 4 year old with us and there was another family as well. There isn't a kids menu but they will make just a plain old burger and the fries will appeal to any age. The tempura battered pickle spears were a good starter. If you like beer, you will find a good selection of local, domestic, and import beer here.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine/New York
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Not my kind of food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I must be honest and say I don't eat meat. Thus, the burgers, which they are famous for, didn't appeal. My friend got one, and I could hardly see the burger! The pulled pork was overly done--almost hard. The fries had a weird taste. The waiter was helpful and professional. I would go for a drink as the place is attractive with a long bar and copper tables.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

First time at this restaurant. Food was different but tasty. Got there later Sunday afternoon and waited a bit while the bartender "played around" with something behind the bar. Thought maybe he was cleaning up and getting ready to close. It seemed that all the waitstaff was doing something other than taking care of diners. Had to ask for a second beer. Food came and he left and never stopped by to ask how anything was. Felt very unwelcome. When I was finished, he did ask me if I wanted another beer. I said yes and asked if they were closing shortly. He said no that they were open until 1;00 am. ???? I eat out a lot but not sure I'd go back here.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nosh also viewed

 

Been to Nosh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nosh, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.