We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Cafe with great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olive Cafe

Olive Cafe
127 Commercial St, Portland, ME 04101-4706
207-772-6200
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 425 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
South Portland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cozy Cafe with great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Rayan, the owner, is ALWAYS there...head chef from Lebanon who cares about his customers. Comes out of kitchen when he can and greets you. Mediterranean platters, thyme pizza and wonderful main courses that delight the palate. Small so be early or leave name and walk the wonderful area. TOTALLY worth the wait and effort to park!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    27
    7
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Small restaurant, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Olive Cafe is a small Mediterranean restaurant. We ate with our children and they were very accommodating to our needs and the food was very good. We had the basics, a vegetarian mixed plate and lamb kabobs--ingredients tasted fresh, all well prepared and even arrived pretty quickly.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colebrook, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“over all very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Went with my husband the food was really good. I didn't liked the babaganoush as it tasted burned, but the tabouleh was the best I have ever had. The atmosphere was really quiet with nice gypsy music. Exactly what we needed after a very long hot day!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Effingham, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Olive Restaurant was fairly good and we will eat there again. I loved the atmosphere, very well done. We thought it odd there were no appetizers on the menu. May I suggest an olive plate? The service was OK. The place was full and only one waitress. We were given a very small table, almost too small. The only major flaw; the rice portion was too small as well. The lamb was excellent. The salad was also very good. It was very lightly dressed, the way salad should be served.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Recommended by one of our tour guides, this was a great little place to eat with Mediterranean flair. Small and quaint, with great food. Loved it!!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olive Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Olive Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olive Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.