We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and Welcoming, Views of a Working Port !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Waterfront Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Waterfront Hotel to your Saves list
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Waterfront Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 Fore Street, Portland, ME 04101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Portland
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Warm and Welcoming, Views of a Working Port !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I decided to get away for Presidents Weekend in Maine. Little did we know that there would be a major snowstorm that weekend. We were safe and sound at the hotel before the storm began. The views of the working harbor out our window were spectacular with the snow swirling around. It is also within walking distance of downtown all the restaurants. Even with the bad weather we ventured out for dinner, and everything was open and busy.

The hotel seemed very full judging by the crowd at breakfast, but there was plenty of room for everyone and there was no noise in the halls, or from the rooms around us. Very comfortable rooms, each has a complete kitchen, with everything you would need to cook a meal. The bathroom is large, and the sink is separate, with lots of storage. The breakfast was excellent, a cut above the usual Residence Inn, in fact the whole hotel was. It is new, and has an updated decor and style. There is a parking garage right next to the hotel, and guest get a special rate of $12.00 for the day with in and out privileges. The staff is very friendly and welcoming especially at the desk. There is a cocktail lounge open in the late afternoon, and many people enjoyed the large screen TV and couches, including us, during the day with the weather.

There were lots of families and though we didn't use the pool I saw lots of children in swim suits heading there.

We will be back again.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the water are worth the extra cost. The rest of the rooms face buildings that are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    221
    47
    10
    18
See reviews for
133
286
26
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were 3 families who stayed at that hotel .It was a very nice hotel, clean with very large suites- I was afraid of the sofa bed but for young children it is enough (not so comfy but they don't weight as much as us..). The breakfast was great with a lot of different choices. The location also was good although the parking fee was very high! My only two complaint were that we asked to be all the families together but due to the desk clerk mistake it wasn't like that. and that you have kitchen in each room but the ventilation in not enough and you cant open windows so the cooking smell from other rooms disturbed our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Had a pleasant stay at the Portland Residence Inn. Check-in was EZ, and they accommodated our request for a higher level floor - sadly, across from the elevator, but the noise level wasn't terrible.

Room was fine and, if our stay was longer, we would have truly appreciated the kitchen in our Studio Suite. Location of the hotel is terrific, and really convenient to Duck Fat, Micucci Grocery (where we get our olive oil fix), Shipyard Brewery and the waterfront Promenade walk.

Breakfast was serviceable; plenty of seating, OK selection for that kind of thing. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night and had a nice stay. Great location and breakfast included but VERY busy at 9am. Room was great, clean and very spacious. Staff was friendly and I was able to find street parking to avoid having to pay to park in the nearby garage. Overall a very good hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

From the moment we pulled into the lobby, I had that feeling of satisfaction that comes with making the right decision. Nicely laid out public areas. Staff at the desk were very nice and helpful. The room was spacious -- great to have a separate living/kitchen area. Nice to have 2 TVs. The breakfast was really good. Real eggs. Make-your-own waffles (daughter was very happy).

Not sure about the complaints I've read on parking (literally across the street). And, the walk to Old Port is easy. More like 5-10 minutes (15 if a stroll). You don't need the shuttle - unless it is raining or you have mobility issues. Portland is a great town, and this hotel is well suited to take advantage of all that it offers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This hotel is in a great location. It's walking distance to wonderful restaurants downtown. The staff is the friendliest I have ever seen at a hotel. They were helpful and had some great restaurant recommendations. I am a Silver Elite member with Marriott, so my room had fresh holiday cookies waiting for me when I checked in. I was also upgraded to a spacious suite that I absolutely loved. I will definitely plan to stay here next time I am in Portland.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We were very pleased with the accommodations and the location of the hotel. Breakfast buffet was a nice touch. Only issue for us was having a cold shower. After calling the front desk the issue was corrected within 15 mins. The technician mentioned the issue was due to heavy consumption. Not sure that sits well with us as I wonder what will happen when the hotel is at capacity. We really want to go back there but are a bit cautious due to the hot water issue. By the way, we travel there frequently as our son, daughter in law and grandbaby live in S. Portland.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Waterfront Hotel

Address: 145 Fore Street, Portland, ME 04101
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Portland
#6 Family Hotel in Portland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland, Maine's only all suite hotel is located in the heart of the historic Old Port district. The Residence Inn by Marriott Downtown/Waterfront is perfect for business trips, family vacations, relocation, corporate housing, and small meetings. Business travelers will find easy access to all organizations in Portland, Maine. The hotel is near major attractions that include the birthplace of the poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, the Casco Bay Lines Ferry Terminal, Merrill Auditorium, Ocean Gateway Terminal, Cumberland County Civic Center, and Portland Museum of Art. Whether you are in town for a Maine lobster roll and blueberry pie or to sample the premier cuisine of the city's award-winning chefs, all are just a stone's throw from our doorstep. Book now to stay with us and experience legendary Marriott service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Waterfront Hotel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Waterfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.