We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, convenient location, great value, fully equipped kitchen and good for kids too” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Waterfront Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Waterfront Hotel to your Saves list
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Waterfront Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 Fore Street, Portland, ME 04101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Portland
westford, ma
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel, convenient location, great value, fully equipped kitchen and good for kids too”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times over the past 2 years for business and its simply great. Staff if friendly, rooms are always clean, nice quiet bar and good free am breakfast (included in price) and super location to all the great dining on fore street.

I typically travel here with my wife and 2 year old and they use the pool and the free shuttle to get around while I am at work. Great kids museum nearby among other things for families.

Get the double room with kids, 2 bed rooms and a living room much better than a connecting room and price is reasonable most nights.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    215
    46
    10
    18
See reviews for
131
280
26
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

A very nice hotel - clean and comfortable. We had a water view room which looks out on the highly industrial port. Fun to watch the activity from the window. Parking was convenient and $12 for our overnight stay. Walking distance to everything we wanted to see. Complementary breakfast was very nice and included a hot buffet.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Solo trip to Portland to visit family. Short taxi drive from airport to Residence Inn. Early flight into Portland but was graciously accommodated for early check-in. Friendly staff helped with all questions, arrangement of rental car, directions, restaurant reservations. Suite was more than adequate with kitchen and bath supplies. Clean and very comfortable. I found the location very convenient to the Old Port section of the city. Very 'walkable' even late at night as a single. Always activity going on in the city. One block away from the Bay and I mention this not for the views because those aren't great but for the convenience of the Ferrys, if you want to explore other areas. Lodging value was a bit on the high side but it is in the city and in a good location. I rented a car only for one day to go leaf 'peeping' so didn't have the cost of the parking garage. Didn't really need a car for exploring the city. I will say if you enjoy Craft Beers and good grub this is a fantastic pub city.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Only stayed for two nights, clean modern building offering the usual Residence Inn welcome..

The good....Large suites with everything you could wish for to make a pleasant stay..complimentary breakfast is enough to keep you going..friendly staff and everywhere spic and span...
The Bad....very expensive compared with some others in the chain we have stayed in, parking in the multi story next door is $12 per day and the hotel is a little out of the centre of Portland to make the surroundings feel a little remote...looks like the area will all be renewed over the next few years so should make a difference..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Decent room for a two night stay. Typical newer Residence Inn Hotel Room. Complimentary Breakfast. Walking distance to restaurants and cafes. Taxis readily available. Stay was for business, wouldn't recommend paying the high prices had I been visiting the area on vacation.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is our second year of booking a 2 bedroom suite at the Residence Inn and couldn't be happier. Plenty of room for us four women. The hotel is incredibly clean, the cost, we felt, was a deal (@$512/4 for 2 nights!) Parking is a bit aggrevating that you have to pay $12/day but after reading another post that the average is $31...not complaining any more. Recommend using free shuttle to get to your location in the evening but if the weather is not too cold, walk back. We were in Moument Square and Fore Street and was about a 10 minute walk. For a weekend such as this view is not important but can see how some may have an issue with it. Special shout outs to Emin at the bar - We were pleasantly surprised to see him still there this year and Bill the shuttle driver. Appreciate you all putting up with us and we will see you next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockland, Maine
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We booked a suite to use as a base of operation to celebrate a friends birthday, visit the Portland Museum and to sample some of Portland's best restaurants. The hotel is ideally located for walking tours of the old port area, shopping and restaurant going. Micucci's is just around the corner for great Italian groceries and wines. Our suite was lovely - a living/dining/and kitchen area flanked by two bedrooms and two baths. The kitchen was full size with all the appliances one has at home and it was furnished with all the china, silver and cooking utensils one would need to prepare entire meals. The staff were lovely and accomodating (we needed an extra blanket) and we discovered that the hotel has a shuttle that takes guests to places of interest and restaurants that are a little too far away to walk to.
Bill dropped us off at Emilista's and picked us up several hours later to take us back to the hotel. This is a great value in a great area of Portland.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Waterfront Hotel

Address: 145 Fore Street, Portland, ME 04101
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Portland
#6 Family Hotel in Portland
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland, Maine's only all suite hotel is located in the heart of the historic Old Port district. The Residence Inn by Marriott Downtown/Waterfront is perfect for business trips, family vacations, relocation, corporate housing, and small meetings. Business travelers will find easy access to all organizations in Portland, Maine. The hotel is near major attractions that include the birthplace of the poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, the Casco Bay Lines Ferry Terminal, Merrill Auditorium, Ocean Gateway Terminal, Cumberland County Civic Center, and Portland Museum of Art. Whether you are in town for a Maine lobster roll and blueberry pie or to sample the premier cuisine of the city's award-winning chefs, all are just a stone's throw from our doorstep. Book now to stay with us and experience legendary Marriott service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Waterfront Hotel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Waterfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.