We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing exciting.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Waterfront Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Waterfront Hotel to your Saves list
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Waterfront Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   145 Fore Street, Portland, ME 04101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Nothing exciting.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

While it seemed to be a newer property, the rooms are terribly small for a Residence Inn. I have stayed at many of them, and these rooms were clearly smaller. The staff was so-so. Not rude, but not friendly either. Just ho-hum. From the looks of the layout, it appears that many of the rooms do not have a good view. The parking garage next door was fine for good weather. Which is how often in Portland? I would think they would have a bridge to it on the second floor, being in a downtown location in a wintery place. Nice indoor pool and extra large exercise room. While the hotel was not in the main area for dinner and shopping, it was a good thing to not be in the midst of the chaos. The walk to dinner and shopping area in downtown was very reasonable, and I do not walk much.

Room Tip: The rooms with a water view are higher up, on the front and cost more. Otherwise, plan on looking at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    237
    51
    12
    20
See reviews for
149
306
27
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New England
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Never spar with a guest.

The manager told me that she would come up and smell the room "AFTER I left." This is the information imparted after noting I was at up a 5 AM looking for allergy relief medicine.

According to this terse manager, "All our rooms are clean and smoke free."

Apparently not.

Without notice there was a knock on my door. An employee who did not identify himself, yet wore an industrial uniform, noted he was here to check on my room. Why could the manager not do this? She said she was "too busy."

He confirmed what I knew all along. Someone had smoked in the room.

Stange, when the manager dropped me an e-mail--she still could not "let it go."

Her response noted that there were other in this room before me and they did not complain of smoke and that the property is "smoke free." 138 days on the road I know the Marriott chain is smoke free

I say to her..................."next contestant." There is a job as a hostess at Dennys waiting for her.

This is the worst Marriott expereince I have had--and I have been loyal to Marriott since 1978.

Word to the wise. Check in at the Hilton down the street. Who needs attitude.

Room Tip: Room with no view. Interior courtyard overlooked dormant patio furniture. Dull view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Maine
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights this month while in Portland on business. This is the third year in a row that I have stayed here for 3-4 nights. Once again, I was extremely pleased with my stay. My one and only complaint is that after 3 years the towels are beginning to get a little thin. I think it's about time the hotel purchase some new ones.

Although the location is in the Old Port, is it a little bit of a walk (5-10 minutes) to most shops and restaurants. Not an issue in good weather, but not fun on a cold, windy and rainy/snowy night. Not really a problem though. If you've parked in the garage next door ($12/day), you have unlimited ins and outs.

I LOVE the kitchenettes in the rooms. Stopped at Trader Joe's and Whole Foods before check-in to stock up with beverages and snacks.

Used the gym for the first time during this stay. Small, but clean and nice selection of equipment. 24 hour access with room key.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I stayed here with family (kids, 1 on foldout, 1 in crib), and everyone loved the big, clean room . No problem Parking free on the street overnight (next day was Sunday) . overslept past 10am and missed breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

Nice place to stay- central to restaurants, parks, and the water. new hotel with a gret breakfast, great gym, pool and nice accomodations with a kitchen and living room. Higly recomment.

Room Tip: 602 on water high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aussie returning
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Great rooms and facilities. Fabulous breakfast. Family friendly. Excellent value.

Room Tip: On edge of town but still terriric in every regard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leominster, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

I stayed at the Residence Inn Portland, ME on the weekend of March 10th. The rooms were very spacious and having the full kitchen area was a definite plus. The pool and fitness room were also a very nice touch to have for me to relax and get a good workout in. The staff was very accomodating and friendly and were very helpful when I had questions about what to do in town and where to eat. There was a sports group staying here during this time and they were very loud and disrupting. The staff did what they could to try and leviate the situation and I was happy about that. Overall this is an excellent hotel and in a good location and the staff made it a wonderful experience. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone that asked me where to stay in Portland, ME.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Waterfront Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Waterfront Hotel

Address: 145 Fore Street, Portland, ME 04101
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Portland
#6 Family Hotel in Portland
#6 Business Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Waterfront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Portland, Maine's only all suite hotel is located in the heart of the historic Old Port district. The Residence Inn by Marriott Downtown/Waterfront is perfect for business trips, family vacations, relocation, corporate housing, and small meetings. Business travelers will find easy access to all organizations in Portland, Maine. The hotel is near major attractions that include the birthplace of the poet Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, the Casco Bay Lines Ferry Terminal, Merrill Auditorium, Ocean Gateway Terminal, Cumberland County Civic Center, and Portland Museum of Art. Whether you are in town for a Maine lobster roll and blueberry pie or to sample the premier cuisine of the city's award-winning chefs, all are just a stone's throw from our doorstep. Book now to stay with us and experience legendary Marriott service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Waterfront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Waterfront Hotel Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Portland Downtown / Waterfront Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.