We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and economical lodging” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Portland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Portland to your Saves list
Travelodge Portland
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1200 Brighton Avenue, Portland, ME 04102   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Portland
LILLE, MAINE
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Comfortable and economical lodging”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

I have stayed at this property a number of times in the past year and never experienced some of the negatives that have been reported to Tripadvisor. It is a standard property and those that expect high-end accommodations should go elsewhere. The staff is friendly and always helpful. The property is clean, freshly painted exterior and interior, and the grounds well-groomed, unlike some other higher priced hotels in the area. A number of families stay here in the summer and commute to Old Orchard Beach. This may account for the reported dirty carpets at that time of year. Some of the rooms now have the added amenity of refrigerators. Had problems with the internet in the late July stay and the front desk phoned the provider, Time Warner, to rectify the problem. Did not have any internet problems in mid-August or this past stay. There is probably nothing the Travelodge can do about the closed gas station in front of it and this property should not be blamed for it. My sole negative is that the a/c is too low and very close to one of the beds in a double room. In closing, this is a good, safe place to stay in the Portland area and is easily reached from I-95. There are higher priced properties just down the road for the those who expect more than the basics.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    26
    42
    47
    73
See reviews for
61
56
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Walton, KY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Travelodge is near downtown Portland, but is much cheaper than staying in a downtown hotel. It's not fancy but clean and a very nice staff. If steps are a problem, ask for a first floor room because there is no elevator.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, NH
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

Upon arriving at this filthy establishment stationed behind an abandoned gas station I couldn't help but think I was arriving at a crime scene. Even so I still had hope that there would be good things lying beneath this rough exterior..... boy was I wrong. I traveled with a large group and we rented out several rooms each room left much to be desired. I will only speak about my experiences even though I fielded several complaints from my group. First there was the issue of the broken toilet. First flush snapped the plastic connecting the inner workings of the toilet to the toilet handle and when I tried to wash my hands the sink clogged immediatly. When I called down to report these malfunctions I was greeted with an 'Are you sure it's broken?' response to my complaints. Little did I know this was just the beginning of a nightmare stay. It took over an hour for anyone to arrive to fix it and when they did come they showed up without tools leading to a much prolonged repair.

Later that day I called the front desk to ask if they had wireless internet the woman on the phone responded by saying 'I don't know' several times in an aggravated manner. I decided I would call back later when a another employee was at the desk. This woman was even more stupid and quite a bit more rude. She answered the phone with a loud sigh and danced around my question about the internet by saying 'It's working for some people.'

Then to top it all off they over charged our whole group. Do not stay at this dump.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

I brought a group of teens on a trip to Portland, being on a budget we went with the least exspensive place. What mistake. Toilets were broken and when called no one came to fix it. They had to flush the toilet by taking the cover off and pull on the chain. In 7 rooms not one bathroom door would shut because the wood was so swollen. Room # 266 door does not lock even with the dead bolt on. Don't waste your money all you will get for it is frustration. It took my kids a longtime to save for their trip and it kills me that it was ruined by this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

First the good things that I have to say about this motel. They offered breakfast every morning and the staff were nice and responsive. The swimming pool is outside but it was nice to be able to take a dip every morning.

Unfortunately there were more negatives than positives about this place. There is an old abandoned gas station right in front of the motel (not across the street mind you, but directly in front of the motel on the same side of the street). So you have to drive around the gas station to get to the front door. This was really unsightly for an entrance to a motel. The carpets in the common areas were simply filthy. They should all be ripped up and replaced. The bath tub in our room was dirty, and it looked like it had not been scrubbed in a while. Although they served breakfast every morning which was great, the circuit breaker kept shutting off in the dining area when someone used the toaster and the microwave at the same time. The guests repeatedly had to wait for the staff to go to the circuit breakers and turn the electricity back on. The electrical system needs to be updated to resolve that problem. Our room faced the abandoned gas station and the street. The noise was rather loud at night and we had to turn on the AC/Fan in order to muffle the noise coming from outside. The rooms in the front of the hotel should all be sound-proofed. The motel offered free Wi-Fi, but I was only able to connect to it once during my stay. The rest of the time there was no connectivity and the hotel staff explained that there IT contractors were looking into it. There weren't much selection in cable channels. They probably could offer a few more movie channels.

But for the money we paid, I guess we got what we bargained for.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hooksett, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

We were horified as we approached the property and saw a dilapatated & closed Mobile gas station and a grungy looking Denny's with no signage. However the property was nicely landscaped around the pool. There was a Sand Pit operation direcly behind the property and trucks could be heard all night. For one night it was just "okay" but the room & bedding was musty.
The lady working the desk on Wed. morning 6/16/10 was wonderful; cheerful, helpful, polite, and did well taking care of Continental Breakfast Bar.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

Very expensive for what you get.

The room was old and worn, not modern at all, nothing fancy to justify the price.
And the breakfast was disappointing too.

Without hesitation the worst hotel we stayed in during our trip to New England.
We are surprised it is part of "Choice hotels".

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Portland

Address: 1200 Brighton Avenue, Portland, ME 04102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Portland 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Travelodge Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Portland Hotel Portland
Portland Travel Lodge
Portland Travelodge
Travel Lodge Portland
Travelodge Portland Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.