We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed the hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   340 Park Avenue, Portland, ME 04102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Portland
Maine
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

A real nice place to stay. They have a shuttle that will pick you up at the airport, bus stop or train station. As far as local eating places, there is a Denny's, McDonalds, Amatos, close by. A grocery store about 3 blocks away. I have no complaints about this hotel at all.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    155
    91
    36
    30
See reviews for
111
167
29
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Asheville
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
239 helpful votes 239 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

After searching a bit on the web, we also found the hotels in Portland Maine to be very overpriced. However, after changing our dates a bit and choosing to end our trip to Maine on a Sunday night before an early morning flight out on Monday, we got a great deal on this hotel. The room was really nice, stylishly contemporary, and clean. Our king bed was very comfortable. We found the front desk staff and the the housekeeper to be very helpful, offering free shuttles and dinner suggestions. Coffee and a nice breakfast in the lobby is also an added bonus.

The hotel is in a good central location, especially if you are flying out of Portland. It is only a couple of miles from the airport and fifteen minutes to the Old Port area of town. Thankfully it is also out of the airport flight path, and very close but not next to I-295. This is mixed use part of town that doesn’t offer great water views or lots of restaurants or attractions within walking distance, but we were simply not willing to pay the prices for a mediocre hotel in the midst of the street life of Old Port.

We had a fourth floor smoking room. Choose another floor if you are averse to the smell of cigarette smoke in the hallway. We were very thankful not to be relegated to some smoking outpost on the edge of the property as is so often the case these days.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

My husband and I were taking a surf trip up the coast and we decided to take a few nights in a hotel. We wanted to experience the city of Portland and prices in the area were outrageous. This La Quinta was priced at 130 and we expected a VERY lovely room for that. The room was adequate with a clean and comfortable bed. But the floor was old and the shower had someone els's hair on the floor. That wasn't great. But coming from being in a tent for a week it was still nice to have a shower. The best part was their customer service. We had big paddle boards that we didn't want to leave on our car and two of their front desk people helped us tremendously finding us a place to leave them while we slept. Thank you for your hospitality. I forget their names but it was a man and a woman at the desk who were incredibly helpful. Thanks again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

I don't generally like to write bad reviews, but even if the hotel can't do much better you can do much better to go elsewhere. I wish I had chosen a different motel. I was strapped for cash, but the sticky rugs, mediocre-at-best service, stained ceilings, noisy guests/room location, and bizarre oil.petroleum smell coming through the window made my night very unpleasant and wasn't worth the low cost. It seems the hotel is located across a milk processing plant? Anyway, although my room claimed to be non-smoking I could smell the stale cigarette smell in the air. When I opened the window for some fresh air, the air outside smelled like diesel. And I'm pretty sure a few guests were having domestic disputes. Hotel location is strange and staff seemed apathetic at best. Spend the extra $20-50 and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, ny
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

Good service and friendly staff. Room was clean and well maintained. Location provides access to I-295 and is only 15 minutes from the Old port are of Portland. I would stay here again.

Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Vermont
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

We went to Portland to catch my parents as they docked for the day on their cruise. It was also our anniversary. The hotel was convenient to the area (only 2-3 miles from the docks) and just off of I295. The room was clean and had a microwave and small refrigerator. The entryway and bathroom had hardwood floors. The only complaint would be that the coffee had not been refilled, but was quickly taken care of with a phone call and it was a single serving coffee maker, so ahd to wait to make the second cup. The free breakfast was adequate, but the room was small 6-8 tables. Staff was pleasant. Very nice stay for the price.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

I drove here & picked up friends at the airport, about 2 miles away. The front desk staff was helpful with directions & restaurant suggestions. Rooms were fine with microwave, frig, & coffeemaker. Long walk (30 minutes) to downtown--not good for single woman. Nice continental breakfast with waffles

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Address: 340 Park Avenue, Portland, ME 04102
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, LaQuinta, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
La Quinta Inn And Suites Portland
La Quinta Hotel Portland
La Quinta Portland
Portland La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.