We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad for free” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   340 Park Avenue, Portland, ME 04102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 hotels in Portland
Greenville, SC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Not too bad for free”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We redeemed a free night at this hotel and found it average. Our biggest complaint was the road noise and the neighborhood. I notice others call it quiet so maybe the location of our room accounted for the excessive noise. Our room faced the Interstate. Staff were friendly and courteous. No one seemed to be in charge of the breakfast room and the tables were dirty and sticky.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

351 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    139
    79
    28
    25
See reviews for
96
136
27
31
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just returned from a tour of New England and this was our second stop. The hotel was booked on a bed and breakfast basis. The staff were helpful and friendly, the room was very spacious, clean and had king size bed. On the down side the hotel is adjacent to a railway line which is fine until a cargo train goes through during the night and you get it rumbling the room for about 10 minutes. We walked downtown which is about 1 and a half miles away. In the end we didn't bother with breakfast because of there being only about 30 tables for the hotel is was too much of a free for all for us!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogers, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed 2 nights because it was close to downtown and the price was so goo next to the chain hotels closer to the water. It was very clean, quiet, with waffles for breakfast. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Even free parking. What more could you want?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

For the price one cannot expect 4 star accommodations. But the La Quinta Portland came through in all the aspects that are most important for me. The room was clean and very quiet (second floor facing parking lot), linens and towels were fresh and housekeeping did their work each day. The location is also conveniently close to things to see and do in the center of Portland. The free breakfast is better than many others I've had in places that were more expensive. There was a waffle maker, bagels, toast, boiled eggs, cold cereals, yoghurt, coffee and orange juice and, more importantly, the breakfast room was clean. The ladies at the front desk were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Pretty standard.
Across the street from a milk distribution facility.
Clean.
My son gave the waffles 5 stars (he's four). About breakfast, are those real Cheerios? They say they are, but seem like they're off-brand. All breakfast prepared off-site and warmed up on-site.
Fine for a hotel that doesn't cost $300 like others closer to downtown. Their shuttle van doesn't take you downtown.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake Beach, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This may be a hard review to go off of because frankly I was totally unhappy with my whole portland experience. The people, food, shops, hotel was all overpriced and mediocre including the la Quinta. Cheapest hotel we could find even then it's still almost $200 a night. Not a happy tourist.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013 via mobile

It's one of the cheaper hotels that's within a 10 min drive to downtown Portland so you can't expect greatness. We had a non-smoking room but the whole 4th floor reeks of cigarette smoke, so the smell seeped into our room. Some chairs have staining, the bathroom wasn't as clean as it could have been. But like I said you can't expect greatness from a place like this. It was mediocre and served its purpose for the weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Address: 340 Park Avenue, Portland, ME 04102
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
La Quinta Inn And Suites Portland
La Quinta Hotel Portland
La Quinta Portland
Portland La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.