We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to stay for airport and rent a car” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   340 Park Avenue, Portland, ME 04102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Portland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location to stay for airport and rent a car”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was a nice hotel. Reasonable price. They picked us quickly from the airport and the driver was very helpful and a nice guy. Check-in no problem. It didn't seem to be very close for walking to restaurants for us but I looked up a Chinese Restaurant that delivered. We got something with lobster and scallops that was good. It was a couple of blocks away. This hotel was perfect for what we wanted. Rather than rush at night to the relatives further north, we were able to get a rental car away from the airport at about half the price. Enterprise staff was very nice. We will do this again. Definitely.

Room Tip: If noise is a problem, ask for a quiet room. We heard nothing during the night except an occasional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    146
    82
    32
    27
See reviews for
102
150
28
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dallas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Good basic clean motel that has a good location just a few miles from the waterfront. Very helpful and service oriented staff. A train is nearby that for light sleepers will be a problem. Sports facilities are nearby that could be a traffic problem on nights of games. Overall very clean and efficiently run.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on a recent trip to Portland. It was a mixed bag as far as hotels go. Some of the staff members were very friendly and helpful, while others were not. One girl at the front desk in particular really seemed to hate her job and was very unhelpful. The maid staff was also unfriendly. The continental breakfast was pretty decent. It wasn't exceptional, but it was solid and I don't think there was anything about it to complain about. The room was also middling. The bed was actually quite comfortable, one of the better hotel beds I have stayed in. However, the bathroom was not great. The toilet had absolutely no suction, and you often had to flush it three times in order to get it to flush. In fact, it was so bad that we had to order a plunger from the front desk. The shower was okay, neither great nor awful. The room seemed to be kept fairly clean. There were no refrigerators in the rooms, and the rooms had a slight odor to them. The location of the hotel was excellent, with great access to downtown Portland and the two Portland sports teams. Of course, that was also a bit of a disadvantage, because the hotel sells their extra parking spaces for baseball parking, and so parking can be an issue during baseball games. Overall, you get what you pay for, and this is a distinctly average hotel.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

we stayed one night in August 2012, coming from the Dallas area. When going to the front desk, the girl saw us (we are from India originally) and decided to walk away from the front desk pretending to do some work in a back area. She would not even check us in. So I stood there for about 3-5 minutes and luckily another girl (black girl) walked by and saw that the other one (white girl) was not interested in talking to us. Then, the black girl checked us in. We go to our room and the A/C was not working at all. We tried to make it start but the same level air was coming on. We wanted to switch rooms but the white girl gave us an attitude and said that it was all we could do and no room switch was allowed. We wanted a refund but she said no. The hotel itself is very crowded, no place to park, old and run down as are so many things in the New England are. Why don't people build new things there?? My dad, who was traveling with me, said he noticed the white girl was giving people a hard time on the phone as well, pretending not to understand their English. Why does LQ hire such racist people? She was a college girl, redhead. Then I called their number trying to talk to a district manager who never returned the voicemail. Stay away from this horrendous place, huge ripoff at a huge price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherbrooke, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

The rooms are really nice (especially considering the price) and the beds are comfortable. The access to a mini-fridge and microwave is always appreciated, especially since there is a Save-a-lot grocery 5-10 minutes from the hotel. Breakfast was included although it is offered in a rather small room considering the size of the hotel so it gets crowded. We really appreciated our stay : the only inconvenience we encountered was that the toilet was leaking, but other than that it was just fine :) !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed in this motel twice going up Hwy. 1 and then back. The first time we stayed in room 327 which was perfectly fine. The only observations the first time was, why would you put wood floors in the bath room? And the elevator was slow. On the way back we didn't have a reservation but thought this motel was OK the first time, so got a room here again. We stayed in room 124.OMG! The room had the smell of a wet dog! I know this is a pet friendly motel but please! Next time I will ask before checking in. They had a nice breakfast area and for the most part the staff was friendly. My suggestion would be if you stay here don't get a room on the first floor unless you have pets.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

First of all, we were checked in by a very handsome and friendly receptionist. Our room was very clean and the beds and linens were very comfortable. We had a refrigerator and microwave in-room. Although not a waterfront property, you can't beat the rates. Breakfast was great. Could not ask for anything more. Again, we salute the kindness of the staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Address: 340 Park Avenue, Portland, ME 04102
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
La Quinta Inn And Suites Portland
La Quinta Hotel Portland
La Quinta Portland
Portland La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.