We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience with this chain” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   340 Park Avenue, Portland, ME 04102   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Portland
Rutherford, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst experience with this chain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We've stayed at several different La Quinta Inns. One was new and nice and the others were older, slightly shabby, but clean. The staff at this La Quinta was very nice. I arrived early, the check-in person had my room made up and it was ready within 15 mins. I had a smoking, pet friendly king bed room. Upon entering the room, I first noticed the cheap faux wood floor in the entry/sink area. It was understandably damp and smelled strongly of cleaner. When the floor dried, it was sticky to walk on. Next was the LOUD humming of the refrigerator. The outlet was behind the dresser so I couldn't unplug it, though maybe I could have turned it off inside? Next up was the desk chair. It was mustard yellow mesh with a 10 inch long, dark, disgusting triangular shaped stain. I didn't even want to think about what caused that stain. The vinyl covered reclining chair arms were very dusty in a not very difficult to reach area of the chair. The bed made loud spring noises and was very soft. The room smelled of (dog?) urine and disinfectant. I opened the window to try and air it out which turned off the A/C. It took 30 minutes or more for the A/C to start working again. It was hot in Portland, about 85 degrees. My little pug found a pill next to the bed on the floor. Thank goodness he didn't eat it. I looked it up and it was some sort of muscle relaxant, which probably would have made him very sick had he eaten it. I laid down for a nap and for about 45 minutes I kept hearing what sounded like someone tossing glass into a glass filled garbage bag. It must have been the housekeeping staff, though why they had to be so noisy I can't imagine. I woke up from the nap, fed the dogs, gathered our stuff and left. I couldn't stand to be in that room for another moment. I rated the property 3 out of 5 because the staff was very nice, the lobby was clean and I'm assuming from the other reviews of this hotel that I was unlucky to have a bad experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    156
    91
    36
    30
See reviews for
112
167
29
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great value for the price! We were greeted by a friendly staff at the front desk. They were knowledgeable about the area and were able to answer all our questions. The room was clean and comfortable and our dog was able to travel with us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed in hotel with husband and kids while visiting family in the area. Great location and the price is right. Staff was very friendly. Rooms clean. There was an issue of late night noise/partying in the hotel. Rooms do not seem to be very sound proof. Staff was very accomadating and helpful and manager responded to our complaints about our stay. Loud guests are not the fault of the hotel, but if its a regular occurance I would think weekend security would resolve the issue. Overall, great location and price. Good value.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

If you're heading to a Sea Dogs game in Portland, this is the perfect hotel. It's a 5 minute walk to the park. It's not close to Inner Harbor but it's definitely more reasonably prices than the hotels downtown! We were pleasantly surprised to find out our room had a refrigerator and microwave. The room was adequate; nothing fancy, but we don't require fancy. The breakfast buffet had a nice selection.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

Visited on a trip to a medical appointment. Everything was fine/..Very convenient location near the Concord bus station, Excellent shuttle service. Staff very friendly & helpful..we enjoyed the breakfast- the do-it yourself waffles is a great feature not found in many other hotels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed one evening, four of us in 2 separate rooms. We always request non-smoking, although the hall, and the room reeked with the smell of cigarette smoke. If we didn't arrive so late, 12AM, we would have complained at the time, or maybe left. The bathroom was in need of repairs, and not exactly tidy. When we left that morning, we did complain to the front desk. They did refund $25. which made us feel better.......will not stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland

Address: 340 Park Avenue, Portland, ME 04102
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, LaQuinta, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Hotel Portland
La Quinta Inn And Suites Portland
La Quinta Hotel Portland
La Quinta Portland
Portland La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Portland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.