We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is there anything better? (hint: no!)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Danforth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Danforth to your Saves list
The Danforth
163 Danforth Street, Portland, ME 04102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Portland B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Is there anything better? (hint: no!)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The most charming, elegant, hospitable Inn in Portland! I would not suggest anything else for out of town visitors.

Lovely beautifully appointed and decorated rooms in an elegant restored mansion in town and walking distance to all that is wonderful that Portland has to offer.

The essence of gracious hospitality and friendly understated service.

Breakfast started with homemade raspberry scones and banana pistachio muffins. Then breakfast with fresh juice and quiche and a fruit salad. Lots of tea and coffee.

The perfect retreat and base to explore from!!

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    19
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
66
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a wonderful inn - lovely and comfortable rooms with great service. We especially liked the excellent advice and recommendations from our innkeeper. It was within easy walking disance of great shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed at The Danforth for 3 nights after it was recommended in the Loney Planet Guide to New England and we were not dissapointed. The hotel was undergoing renovations during our visit, so as to have a restaurant, but this in no way impacted on our stay. The rooms were very spacious, clean with a large comfatable bed. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful with regards our visit to Portland. We would certainly recommend The Danforth for any one visiting Portland and are confident they wouldn't be dissapointed.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We really enjoyed our weekend stay at the Danforth. The inn keepers were friendly and helpful and checked in with us daily to see how our stay was going. The inn was lovely and the breakfasts delicious and nicely presented! It was a romantic setting for an anniversary celebration and the location was excellent. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minot, North Dakota
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stopped at this B&B on our way from Saint John NB to Boston, good half way point.
The B&B was getting a few renovations but by 5pm they had stopped for the night and didn't start up till after breakfast, the Inn is wonderful, very cozy rooms, comfortable beds, nice warm showers and amenities, free afternoon tea with good biscuits and a nice variety of teas. Breakfast was also good with tasty pastries and 2 main choices but excellent.
Ibby was helpful explaining which restaurants we might like to try and walking routes to see the city and harbor. Not the greatest views but you can see the water through the buildings.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the Inn have views of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the arts district room. The room was run down and had the vent faking out of the ceiling in the bathroom. The bedding was clean and the room was otherwise okay. They offer turn down service with chocolates which is nice, but I'd rather them spruce up the rooms.

The inn has a Coupola that is pretty cool and gives a great view of the city.

The breakfast was basic and not that great.

The gentleman that checked us in and helped us during breakfast was extremely kind, professional and helpful!

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnfield, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The are not enough adjectives or exclaimation points to share how much this place impressed me. The staff were so helpful and accomodating. Everything was perfect from the sheets on the bed to the sitting rooms to the breakfast.

Room Tip: There are only a few rooms at this Inn, we stayed in the Back Bay room which was comfortably sized a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Danforth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Danforth

Address: 163 Danforth Street, Portland, ME 04102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Danforth is the grande dame of the Portland, Maine boutique hotel scene. Built in the 1800's, extensive renovations to design and (mostly) new bathrooms have married historic gentility with classic but contemporary stylings. Basement billiard room, a widow's walk with views, three course breakfasts - who could ask for more? A recent review called The Danforth an historic mansion with a hip vibe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your The Danforth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Danforth Hotel Portland
The Danforth Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Danforth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.