We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stayed with husband and recently with girlfriend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Danforth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Danforth to your Saves list
The Danforth
163 Danforth Street, Portland, ME 04102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
Worcester, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“stayed with husband and recently with girlfriend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great location, helpfull staff, beautiful property. Stayed with my husband three times in the winter season. New owners, same relaxing atmosphere. Nice place to unwind, easy walk to bars, shopping and restaurants. This trip was girls shopping and drinking but being 50 something we wanted a quiet, beautiful, and well kept place. Absolutely perfect..can't wait for a romantic weekend with my husband again.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
44
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peaks Island, Maine, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Needed a nice place to stay for a concert at the State with my wife and son. Excellent choice. Place was beautiful, full of character and architectural history, well kept, clean and hospitable. We were treated the way you would expect for the $ spent. Billiards Room was awesome. Breakfast was amazing. My new favorite place.

Would be a great place for a couple getaway too. Bed was the most comfortable one i have ever slept on. Thanks for the royal treatment.

Room Tip: Most rooms are for just two but if you have children, the Peninsula Family Room is excellent. Two r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Beautiful room with a lovely view! The room was very tastefully decorated, extremely clean and included several special amenities. The breakfast was delicious! The portions are not large, but that was fine with us. We will definitely come back ... hopefully for more than one night!

Room Tip: all the rooms have a fireplave
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We love Portland and really enjoy staying downtown so we can walk to everything. The Danforth has a great location, a wonderful view, and is in a sweet neighborhood. Our room was beautiful and well equipped. The service was outstanding and breakfast out of this world!

We are repeat customers and will certainly go there again.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful, but the view is on the Danforth Street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I thought the rooms were OK; they were clean, nicely furnished. The common areas were nice as well. But I think management has to pay more attention to operational details. The limited parking area has some type of system in place so that cars are not blocked in. Last person in is supposed to leave keys. That was not explained to us and apparently not enforced since we were delayed in our departure while another guest was located (luckily for us) in their room and asked to move their car.

Breakfast was tasty and well presented. Portions were quite small. The dining area, visible to all guests going to or from rooms, still had dirty breakfast dishes on the tables an hour or so after breakfast was completed. Staff was friendly and attentive

The Inn is in a good location and within walking distance of much of the downtown area. Before returning, I think I will look elsewhere first.

Room Tip: There are three floors. Those folks with any trouble climbing stairs should not stay on the third fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Just stayed overnight at this lovely inn and I want to go back. Each room with its own private bath, is decorated differently and is spotlessly clean. Breakfast is yummy and staff is super accommodating.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful space with clever art. I came here with my girlfriend for a get away and we both loved it. It's walking distance to all of the best restaurants in the area. We will definitely be back. 100% recommended.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Danforth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Danforth

Address: 163 Danforth Street, Portland, ME 04102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Danforth is the grande dame of the Portland, Maine boutique hotel scene. Built in the 1800's, extensive renovations to design and (mostly) new bathrooms have married historic gentility with classic but contemporary stylings. Basement billiard room, a widow's walk with views, three course breakfasts - who could ask for more? A recent review called The Danforth an historic mansion with a hip vibe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Danforth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Danforth Hotel Portland
The Danforth Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Danforth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.