We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Solid, Fresh Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Grill Room and Bar

The Grill Room and Bar
84 Exchange St, Portland, ME 04101-5003
207-774-2333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #111 of 425 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: If you’re looking for the best steakhouse in Portland, Maine you have come to the right place! The Grill Room features affordable, wood-fired, grilled steaks, delicious pizza and incredible seafood entrees the whole family will love.Chef Lee Harding has dedicated his life to the culinary arts and focuses on using grass fed beef & locally grown meats and produce in his creations. With high ceilings and a big, open kitchen, The Grill Room aims to please with more than just great food at affordable prices. If you have never been dining in Portland, Maine, it is quite an experience! There are so many restaurants to choose from that only award-winning restaurants, like The Grill Room, tend to stand out from the crowd.The Grill Room is the second restaurant founded in Harding’s “The Rooms” brand of restaurants. Since 2008, the Grill Room has been featured in many of Maine’s top publications as a “Best Bet” for Portland Maine food. Come in and try the now famous beef tartare, or a juicy wood-fired pizza or grilled steak. Open seven days a week, The Grill Room offers lunch and dinner selections with a healthy wine and drink list. Visit The Grill Room today and find out what a Portland, Maine steakhouse should be like.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Solid, Fresh Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

After shopping for wedding rings we wandered into this little restaurant/bar. It is one of a family of "room" named restaurants in Portland that come highly recommended. The food was fresh and satisfying and the drinks are out of this world. I had the wedge salad (peppery, covered in bacon and bleu cheese and so good) bbq chicken pizza - it is a high brow version with chicken confit (chicken cooked in duck fat, carmelized onions). The bread crust on the pizza was not overly flavorful but the restaurant deserves points that the crust was freshly made. The cocktails are pricy but so delicious - the RUBY SLIPPER is the summer cocktail. Deceptively refreshing and light you will want to kick four of these back but don't or you'll end up falling on your derriere. If you like lemon drops or sidecars you'll love this drink. The staff is personable and quick. I want to return for drinks and you will too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    72
    33
    29
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Covent Garden
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The pre dinner bread, drinks, appetizers and the amazing sirloin steak dish, were all just perfect. Great atmosphere and servers. When we asked at our hotel where is the best steak house in Portland they recommended this place immediately, saying "this is where we go"....and who can blame them. Only downer was the ridiculous low lighting, as we could only read the menu using our mobiles torch app, this must be the trend!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Delicious Food in a Dark Setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My friend and I went last night for dinner. The menu selection was awesome and each item sounded better than the next. I ordered the skirt steak and it was cooked perfectly. We also had a great time picking out a cocktail from their nice list. My only complaint was that the interior was so dark inside and at times hard to see the menu. However, this will not deter us from going back. This will definitely be in our rotation to revisit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lots of Hits, some Misses”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had dinner there on a late Sunday night. The place supposedly closes at 9 pm, but we came at 8:55 pm and it was full, and patrons were still there after we left at 10:30 pm.

Hits:
- good service
- fresh (homemade?) bread served with virgin olive oil
- variety and quality of ingredients
- seafood cooked to perfection
- lovely and tasty garnishes
- portioned ''just enough''
- nice vibe and atmosphere

Misses:
- some dishes definitively too salty: cesaer salad with parmesan tuile; dirty-shrimp risotto.
- after the appetizers were taken, we were missing knives for the main dish. We ended up taking the knives set on the table nearby.

Overall it was a good dinner, in a nice neighbourhood of Portland.

P.S. Forget about the dessert and walk down the street for some tasty Mt. Desert Island Ice Cream!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise - great deal with Groupone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed the salmon LT with Geary's Pale Ale after some claims and calamari to start. My wife enjoyed a steak salad and my daughter best like the chocolate Gelato. Decor was enjoyable as well. I'd recommend it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Grill Room and Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Grill Room and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grill Room and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.