We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great morning buns” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Standard Baking Co.

Standard Baking Co.
75 Commercial St, Portland, ME 04101
+1 207-773-2112
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 552 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Breakfast, Takeout
Description: Artisanal, European breads and pastries for takeaway. Slow-fermented, hand-crafted breads and classic pastries with a local twist, carefully prepared by our small crew of skilled bakers. Breakfast pastries, cookies, traditional baguettes, naturally-leavened organic breads made with local grains, seasonal and daily specials. We also provide limited seating outdoors seasonally.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great morning buns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We grabbed our Starbucks and walked over to Standard for morning buns. Really good. Very small seating area outside, they could really use some more. It looked like most of the locals grab stuff to go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    89
    20
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Delicious Baked Goods Not to Be Missed!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We have a friend who has brought us some of these baked goods over the past several years. We are about an hour and a half from Portland when she brings these. The morning buns (sticky buns) are large and perfect. The Polenta cookies are interesting, strong and with a great texture and taste. The "Financier" which is butter, pecans and chocolate I thought was fine but not great but the other three in my party raved about them and they like chocolate more than I do. I have read some of the recent reviews and I must visit the next time I am in Portland, most likely to buy one of everything!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco, Maine
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“morning buns and croissants”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

The morning buns are insane. Buttery, light, and not overly sweet and a great way to start any day. The croissants are just as good, especially the chocolate. A great value and worth every penny.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sc
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great bread, pastries, rolls, cookies...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I'm here on business, with 2 more weeks to go. The bakery is on my walking route and so far I've tried the ham and cheese croissant (a bit salty, but good), the French and Italian sandwich rolls, the whole wheat potato rolls (amazing), and the macaroons (addictive). This is an absolute must for anyone who loves and appreciates great baking!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“In-house bakery, good location, but limited selection”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Bakery is very close to the heart of old port / the ferry terminal. Seems like they bake everyone on-site, although the morning roll and baguette we had were not especially fresh. They have a small counter and limited selection to match, although they said they do rotate items every now and then.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Standard Baking Co. also viewed

 

Been to Standard Baking Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Standard Baking Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.