We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Standard Baking Co.

Standard Baking Co.
75 Commercial St, Portland, ME 04101-4703
207-773-2112
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 540 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Bakery
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Dessert
NC
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Do not miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

One doesn't go to Standard for the "meal" experience. They have three tiny tables outside. One goes there to buy their exceptional bread. We make a special stop one the way to camp and each time we go to Portland or Freeport. Everything they make is fantastic!!! It's worth stopping by just to inhale . . . .

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    331
    86
    20
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CT
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Try the Chocolate Corks!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

All I can say is "WOW" to this bakery. We stayed up one block at the Hampton Inn and one of the people at the hotel (Rich) said we needed to try Standard Baking, so we did. It was amazing. The breads, cookies, cakes and coffee were just great. I could have sat there all day and taken in all the smells. I tried the Chocolate Cork and Chocolate Muffins - both were to die for. I actually took a couple corks home to CT!!

Make sure to get an iced coffee to wash down this stuff as its rich but great.

You are doing yourself a disservice should you miss out on coming here!! AWESOME

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolute Must For A "Foodie"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Every item in this place is perfect. If fresh baked bread is what you crave, they have a wide selection consisting of sourdoughs or yeast breads, organic and whole grain, loaf or boule'. Dinner rolls, baguettes, demi-bagettes and focaccia. Each day has a different specialty, good idea to call ahead in the summer as croissants SELL OUT by 9:30 - 10am. For a sweet tooth, try a financier if you like chocolate chip cookies. It's a cross between a cookie and a muffin - divine!! If you love chocolate, than a chocolate cork will satisfy anyone. Madelines are light and moist, tarts are buttery with just the right amount of sweetness in the fillings to not be overpowering. The croissants deserve their own paragraph in that they have plain, almond, chocolate (ie, there is a stick of chocolate inside the croissant, pain au chocolate in France), and ham and cheese stuffed! I love to grab a cup of tea and a pastry then sit in the café chairs outside watching all the tourists and listening to the sounds of a working waterfront. Of course I always get a loaf or two of the Maine Grain to take home - it freezes beautifully.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, Michigan
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Stay long – eat there – get extra go.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I watched a steady stream of late Tuesday morning customers as I sat outside and consumed 4 “pastries” and then purchased three loafs to go. I should have purchased more bread and muffins. It is a must. Good java too. So much more fun than the star franchises.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Maryland
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Treats...And a big treat for you.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just the best from the artisan breads to the pastries & pies.
Worth the wait talking to the returning patrons about their favorites.
Lots of repeat customers in the line tells me Standard Baking Co. is working on something special.
Wish I could take this place home!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Standard Baking Co. also viewed

 

Been to Standard Baking Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Standard Baking Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.