We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hall for a relatively small city!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Merrill Auditorium

Merrill Auditorium
Portland, ME
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 52 Attractions in Portland
Type: Canyons, Concerts, Theaters & Stadiums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The concert hall for a variety of musical and theater performances.
Waterboro, Maine
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A lovely hall for a relatively small city!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We have attended three First night events and a drumming concert at Merrill. It is an attractive venue for many kinds of events. Feels the closest thing to being in Boston that I've encountered in Maine! And then there's the Portland Symphony - excellent, in an excellent venue!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    13
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Mass
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Celtic Woman Concert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Saw a concert yesterday at Merrill Auditorium , It is a lovely venue . I really think any seat is a good seat at Merrill .
We were in the first balcony right above the stage , Great view of the performers , we had never been to Merrill but we would go back

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, Maine
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“all the best entertainment in Portland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Opera, Symphony, Comedy, Dance, Music Theater....... Our own Portland Symphony Orchestra!!!!!! Thanks guys for your impeccable quality of offerings to our community!!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Maine
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Midtown Men”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Great Show, excellent entertaainment in a wonderful venue. I rencently attended a show at Merrill for the first time. I was impressed with the facility. It is a beautiful the theatre with great sound and view. Nice to see that Maine has some quality places for some different types of entertainment

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best Concert Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Hom of the Portland Sympohony Orchestra, the Merrill is the only fine arts concert venue in town. Great acoustics, visibillity from all seats and a touch of big city grandeur in a small town.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Merrill Auditorium also viewed

 

Been to Merrill Auditorium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merrill Auditorium, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.