We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great expensive food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Miyake

Miyake
468 Fore Street, Suite 200, Portland, ME 04101
207-871-9170
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #39 of 539 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great expensive food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

We went to the location on forestreet. We had excellent friendly service. The food was wonderful! We tried several different things and even had the dessert. We really enjoyed it, but it did cost us!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    17
    16
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Unbelievable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

If you've paid attention to any of my previous reviews, you may have seen me write "The best breakfast..." or "The best steak...", etc, and I really DO mean it, despite my zealous passion for food! Well, now it's Japan's time to take my vote, and, funnily enough, the Chef/Creator is from California - not Japan.

'Miyake' is a tiny Japanese Sushi restaurant in downtown Portland, ME, without a bar but a BYOB option. The location is nice and quiet; the restaurant is decorated simply and beautifully. Reservations are recommended as this place comes highly regarded and fills up quickly. We've eaten at several Sushi restaurants in Portland, and others throughout MA and NH. 'Miyake' is by far THE BEST. I ordered the "Chef's Choice 5-Course" option. It was pure magic - each and every bite blissfull. The Chef is outstanding!

Service was excellent. Our waitress was friendly, attentive, and very knowledgeable of all the food on the menu and what we should expect to taste. We dropped $100, plus $20 for a tip, and I'd happily pay more if I had to (we're not rich by the way - far from it, in fact!), but we believe the food, service and overall experience is unbeatable and worth the value!

  • Visited April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Better suited for Vegas--very dissapointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2011

When it was a hole in the wall with an amazing chef, Miyake used to be one of the Jewels of Portland dining. In their new digs the chef Masa is still there but at this early date some of the magic is gone.

The new location seems better suited for Las Vegas than Portland.
Had the seven course tasting menu, and while some of the course were great, some repeated themselves. Some of the fish was very fresh but some was no better than your average neighborhood sushi restraunt.Also the wine parings were totally uninspired.

When you are paying over 150 per person you expect an amazing experience. This fell far short.

They obviously care deeply about the food and hopefully as they get used to the bigger space it will get better

  • Visited July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Just north of LA, CA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“NOT impressed !!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

I had dinner with a friend here in late June and was seriously disappointed !!. I live in LA and am spoiled with great sushi ALL the time ( generous portions and fair prices) so this place charges $5.00 for one tiny piece of sushi with small fish and way more rice.. which is crazy expensive by LA standards for basic tuna and yellowtail . ( not 2 pieces per order...) AND the kicker is they tried to charge me for pickled ginger??????. That would be like McDonald's trying to charge for ketchup or salt.
Ginger is incredibly cheap and plentiful and I have NEVER ever had this come up before. I love pickled ginger and ate all that they gave me tiny servings with each dish) and when I asked for more and that was when I was told that that after the 3rd tiny serving that they would have to charge.. R u kidding me???? This place has presumptious waitstaff ...a tiny restaurant space with a totally inconvenient table right in the middle of the restaurant that no one would want to sit at.. unless u like eating in the middle of the Freeway... It's BYOB which is OK as long as the deli right down the street is still open. (Try the Yuzu infused sake GREAT!! )
Also when i called for info and reserves ALL I ever got was an answering machine and they never called back..!! With that said the the items we got were very well done ...the Omikase was superb !!
But these folks need to drop the uber snob crap in Portland.. Really... it wouldn't fly in LA and they have the potential for a great thing......

  • Visited June 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Connecticut
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Even though I am not a big fish eater, my husband wanted to try Miyake. With four of us, we were able to try several dishes and I must admit the weakest was the non-fish pork belly. Though the prices are a bit steep, dinner is more affordable since one can bring their own wine and/or beer. Yes, if I had one night in Portland, Maine I WOULD return to Miyaki.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miyake also viewed

 

Been to Miyake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Miyake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.