We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chadwick B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Portland
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast
Save Saved
You added The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
140 Chadwick Street, Portland, ME 04102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
$25 off room rate
Ranked #2 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Easton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Chadwick B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

My husband and I decided on a fairly last minute short mid-week getaway. I searched on-line and found the Chadwick had one room remaining. We booked it and were very happy with our choice. The location is good. Not too far from downtown (and Caiola's) if you like walking. We parked our car and didn't use it the four days that we were there. On arrival we were greeted by Erin. She was very welcoming and gave us a quick tour of the downstairs, including complimentary water and snacks. They also have wine at a reasonable price. Our room was perfect - even had an electric fireplace and terrycloth robes that came in very handy after we were caught out in a rainstorm without our rain gear. The breakfasts were delicious and included choices for vegetarians. I recommend the Chadwick to anyone who wants a place where they have thought of everything.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    33
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
28
301
17
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Visited the Chadwick in June of 2014 for a week and stayed in the Abbott Room. Before going, I was skeptical of any B&B. I must say I was completely won over by the Chadwick. The location is very nice being close to everything we wanted to do in Portland. The rooms were great. The bed was extremely comfortable and the room included all of the amenities we could ask for. The breakfasts were amazing. Between the strawberry shortcake pancakes and pumpkin waffles, I couldn't ask for anything better. Erin and Scot were exceptional cooks and hosts.

I'd highly recommend the Chadwick to anyone looking to have a good time in Portland. We'll definitely be going back in the future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I found this inn to be so welcoming and comfortable and the staff so friendly that I didn't want to leave! The breakfasts and Erin's cookies are to die for and the Baxter Room with it's little balcony and wicker chairs was a delightful afternoon escape after touring Old Port restaurants and shops and museums. The neighborhood is very quiet and the streets to downtown easy to negotiate. I hope to return to this place next year and will recommend it to everyone I know travelling to the east coast!

Room Tip: Baxter room has the balcony, but all the rooms are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

This is only my 2nd b&b experience, so I don't consider myself all that qualified to write a review. However, I wanted to express how pleasantly surprised at how lovely this place is. It has the comforts of home in a friendly atmosphere from our innkeeper Erin, but enough privacy that is often lacking in a typical b&b. For example, instead of one big dining room table forcing people to talk to each other, there are four smaller tables for eating. The food alone is enough for me to come back. We had the pleasure of enjoying strawberry pancakes, omelets, blueberry scones, peanut butter cookies and more. Would definitely stay there again if I'm ever in the area.

Some may complain about distance to downtown. I can imagine it might be a little far if you're walking, but I can't speak to that because we had rented a car and it was only a 5 minute drive to the wharf where all the boats tours leave from and where all the yummy restaurants are.

Special thanks to Erin for recommending Central Provisions for dinner. So good that we went back a second time!

Room Tip: Chamberlain is the only one with a king bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We happened upon the Chadwick B and B, and it was our good fortune that we did! Only because there was a last minute cancellation were we able to get a room, and we stayed for two days. The room was extremely well appointed, the bed was glorious, and the breakfasts were fantastic! The owner and staff were so fantastically accommodating and thoughtful that our stay ended too soon!

Room Tip: We had a south facing room and the morning sun was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We visit a lot of inns. The Chadwick is a standout. Classy and comfortable. You won't go hungry at breakfast, whether it includes strawberry shortcake pancakes, blueberry scones, or the best granola I've ever had. You're in a quiet neighborhood for walking or running. And you're still within a half-mile to a mile-and-a-half of everything in Portland. The innkeepers, Scot and Erin, are friendly and get all the details right.

Room Tip: The Abbott Room (Room 2) in June worked for us. We didn't need the A/C. Just opened the windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We really can't say enough good things about The Chadwick and highly recommend it! Staying here was one of the highlights of our vacation along the East Coast, with accommodations, meals and gracious hospitality that exceeded our expectations. Scott and Erin are wonderful hosts, and Erin's baking and creative and delicious breakfasts amazed and delighted us! As others have mentioned, little extra touches abound and there is a ton of up-to-date literature available, putting The Chadwick that much ahead of comparable B&Bs.We can't wait to return!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast

Address: 140 Chadwick Street, Portland, ME 04102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE CHADWICK BED & BREAKFAST: The New Standard of Bed & Breakfast LuxuryThe perfect Portland getaway, The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast provides thoughtful touches that invite a sense of pampering and romance in unsurpassed comfort and elegance. With endless events and activities offered in the Greater Portland area, you can keep active or spend time relaxing in the comfort of this classically appointed home away from home. Do as little or as much as you like.Whether visiting Maine for a long weekend, vacation, rest and relaxation, honeymoon, anniversary, wedding, or on business, The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast strives to provide a level of personal service that goes above and beyond, leaving you with a rich and memorable experience.Innkeeper & Owner E Scot Fuller, Assistant Innkeeper Adam Alfter, and the rest of The Chadwick Staff take great pride in providing tastefully appointed guest rooms—each with a private bathroom—beautifully landscaped grounds, and a five-star gourmet breakfast each and every morning. We can’t wait to have you experience it for yourself!Within walking distance, you’ll find Portland’s finest galleries, museums, theaters, shops, and restaurants. Guests often use The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast as a base for traveling to other nearby locations such as the Lakes Region of Western Maine, the rugged coastline of Acadia National Park, the sandy beaches of Southern Maine, and the breathtaking White Mountains of New Hampshire.Shoppers and restaurant enthusiasts alike will find whatever they are looking for not only downtown but just a car ride away in Freeport, Kittery, Bar Harbor, and Camden. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Chadwick Hotel Portland
The Chadwick Bed And Breakfast
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.