We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Portland, Maine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast
140 Chadwick Street, Portland, ME 04102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Two + Tuesday Free!
Ranked #1 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Bloomfield, NJ
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Portland, Maine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My husband and I just spent a wonderful weekend at the Chadwick Bed & Breakfast. The Inn is very beautiful, well kept and the Innkeepers are so friendly.

Upon checking in (late) we found a welcoming note, ensuring we knew where snacks, water and all of the amenities could be located. Breakfast was outstanding and a true reflection of how passionate Scot and Laura are to deliver a top notch experience.

The Inn is located in a great location. Very easy to access downtown and amazing restaurants. Don't miss going to Duckfat and the great local breweries.

We can't wait until our next trip to Maine and our stay at the Chadwick!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    34
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
316
18
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Kudos to Scot and Laura at the Chadwick for knowing exactly how to run a business aimed at providing excellent customer service. This B&B was such a treat! I was in Portland for a wedding and decided to forego the usual chain-brand hotels in the port and go with something a bit more special and unique. I am so glad I did! Within a comfortable walking distance of the busy old port area, and located on a beautiful residential street, the Chadwick offers all the comforts of home with an elegant flair. The bed was so comfortable and the breakfasts so delicious that it was hard to leave! The innkeepers are lovely people -- friendly but not overbearing. A DVD library made for nice movie watching in the evenings, and bottles of water and light snacks are available round the clock for free. They even have a nice selection of wines for purchase. All in all an outstanding experience!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Our 4-day, 3-night Labor Day weekend in Portland was everything we had hoped for and a lot of that was due to our stay at The Chadwick. Laura and Sebastian were very pleasant, accommodating, and respectful. The breakfasts were beautiful to look at, delicious to eat, and left us feeling guilty by leaving food on our plate because of the portion sizes. Rooms were clean, tidy, and fresh smelling. Our walk-abouts in Portland always ended with a pleasant walk back to the Chadwick for some rest and relaxation in the downstairs common area to plan our next day adventures.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012 via mobile

This was our first B&B stay and we loved it! We stayed in the Baxter room as it was the only one available. Even though it was small it still had everything we needed. The bathroom was large and shower was good. Everything was very clean. Bed also comfortable. Even has an iPhone charging station. The owners thought of everything! Convenient location, we rode our bikes just a short distance to down town Portland. Breakfast was good, excellent hosts...we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Souderton, PA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The Chadwick was everything a B & B should be! The hosts were hospitable and helpful, the room was well appointed and the breakfast was delicious! The only downside was the location was a bit far from the Old Port.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Chadwick for one night while in Portland for a quick getaway. We wanted a room that was close to downtown without being jammed in the middle of everything at a chain hotel. The Chadwick met that criteria.

We were warmly met by Laura who gave us a quick tour and a couple recommendations for the restaurant we were going to that evening (spot on, by the way). Our room was clean, quiet, and comfortable. The bed was fantastic and the newly renovated in-suite bathroom had good pressure in the shower and soft towels (as opposed to the often-pitted towels at larger hotels).

Breakfast was amazing. My wife doesn't eat gluten or dairy and they were happy to accommodate the dietary restrictions. She said that it was one of the best waffles she ever had (with or without gluten). Local fresh fruit with a mint syrup complimented. We were in Portland for a mini foodie trip and The Chadwick rolled into our meal itinerary perfectly.

If you're someone who prefers the B&B scene or just wants to stay somewhere friendly and convenient, I'd highly recommend The Chadwick.

Room Tip: Some rooms have in-suite bathrooms while others, although private, are across the hall. Just be aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarrytown, New York, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The Chadwick folks offered us a great, vegan-friendly breakfast. The room was great: pleasant, air-conditioned, small porch outside, comfortable bed, and a big, private bathroom just across the hall. No complaints, and a good value for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast

Address: 140 Chadwick Street, Portland, ME 04102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE CHADWICK BED & BREAKFAST: The New Standard of Bed & Breakfast LuxuryThe perfect Portland getaway, The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast provides thoughtful touches that invite a sense of pampering and romance in unsurpassed comfort and elegance. With endless events and activities offered in the Greater Portland area, you can keep active or spend time relaxing in the comfort of this classically appointed home away from home. Do as little or as much as you like.Whether visiting Maine for a long weekend, vacation, rest and relaxation, honeymoon, anniversary, wedding, or on business, The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast strives to provide a level of personal service that goes above and beyond, leaving you with a rich and memorable experience.Innkeeper & Owner E Scot Fuller, Assistant Innkeeper Adam Alfter, and the rest of The Chadwick Staff take great pride in providing tastefully appointed guest rooms—each with a private bathroom—beautifully landscaped grounds, and a five-star gourmet breakfast each and every morning. We can’t wait to have you experience it for yourself!Within walking distance, you’ll find Portland’s finest galleries, museums, theaters, shops, and restaurants. Guests often use The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast as a base for traveling to other nearby locations such as the Lakes Region of Western Maine, the rugged coastline of Acadia National Park, the sandy beaches of Southern Maine, and the breathtaking White Mountains of New Hampshire.Shoppers and restaurant enthusiasts alike will find whatever they are looking for not only downtown but just a car ride away in Freeport, Kittery, Bar Harbor, and Camden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chadwick Bed And Breakfast
The Chadwick Hotel Portland
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.