We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it and you will too!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast
140 Chadwick Street, Portland, ME 04102   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$100 (USD)
Ranked #1 of 12 Portland B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersGold level
Athens, Georgia
1 review
“We loved it and you will too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

The Chadwick is beautiful on the outside and inside, the room was very comfortable, the Scot and Laura were both super friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was absolutely incredible. In short, there is nothing negative that could be said about our stay. If you're looking for a place to stay in Portland, the Chadwick is unbeatable!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortlandInnkeeper, Owner at The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Thank you for the wonderful review and congratulations again on the marriage! We love hosting a honeymoon! Scot & Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    34
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
317
18
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We began our Maine vacation at the Chadwick Bed & Breakfast. Everything was exceptional: the accommodations, the location, the breakfasts, and the inkeepers were just wonderful. There are several things we look for in a bed and breakfast. Cleanliness is on the top of the list, and this place is immaculate. Location: the Chadwick was in a quiet location not far from the port area. Charm and tranquility. Oh yes! And finally, innkeepers that are attentive to their guests. We felt like we were home from the moment we walked in. The breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. It was hard to leave this place, and we will remember it for future trips and recommend it to all who visit the Portland area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chamberlain Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortlandInnkeeper, Owner at The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
We try very hard to keep the house as clean as possible and in tip top shape so it is always nice to see when someone feels that we have done just that. Although not in the Old Port, we are only a 20-25 minute walk away or a 5 minute car or taxi ride, as are most the bed & breakfasts in Portland. Hope you get a chance to come back and visit soon! Scot & Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

My husband & I enjoyed staying at The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast very much. We intend to go back! Over the years, we have stayed in many B &B's in the U.S. and Europe. We enjoyed talking to the owner, Scot, and his assistant Laura very much. I would love to go back to this darling B&B.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortlandInnkeeper, Owner at The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Thank you for your kind words! We love when we have people tell us they want to come back! Scot & Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansted, St. Croix
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

Our room with its own balcony allowed us to hear the fountain in bed and enjoy a birds eye view of the lovely shade garden morning and evening. Breakfasts were delicious and the strawberry soup was divine! No detail was overlooked! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and Loved Portland!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortlandInnkeeper, Owner at The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Our strawberry soup recipe is top secret! Who are we kidding? Just ask and we'll email it to you! Scot & Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We were greeted upon arrival by Laura, the assistant Innkeeper. What an absolutely delightful young lady. She showed us the operations aspect of the B&B, and took us to our rooms. They were absolutely SPOTLESS! This is a must in my view. We stayed at another previously and while it was pleasant enough, it couldn't hold a candle to the Chadwick. Later that evening we met Scott, the owner/innkeeper. He made sure that everything was satisfactory and to our liking, and told us what was on the menu for breakfast. I must say that while we don't usually eat the type of food that was on the menu for the two days that we stayed there (basically, we're ham and egg folks), the food was delicious and fresh. Overall we found the Chadwick staff to be very outgoing and accomodating, and our stay was well worth the very reasonable price. We highly recommend this facility for your next stay in Portland. Scott and Laura, THANKS!!

-Jim and Claudia Hyatt

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortlandInnkeeper, Owner at The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
We can't wait to have you back too! Glad you had such a lovely stay and enjoyed yourselves at the house! We try to keep our breakfasts as unique and delicious as possible but if you ever are not in the mood for what is being served, we can make eggs as you wish, toast, English muffin, or a delicious hot oatmeal--packed with dried fruits, nuts, brown sugar, and real maple syrup. Thanks again! Scot & Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cicero, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Very comfortable, food was outstanding, Scott, Laura & Jonathan are very detail orientated and it shows.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortlandInnkeeper, Owner at The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
We try to hide the dust everyday before check-ins! Scot, Laura & Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamul, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

Greeting and introduction by Innkeeper thorough and helpful, but not overdone. Rooms clean, tidy and well-appointed. Property well-maintained. Recommend Longfellow and Abbott rooms with en suite bathrooms. Flexible breakfast options very much appreciated.

Room Tip: Recommend rooms with en suite bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PortlandInnkeeper, Owner at The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
All our rooms have private bathrooms that are not shared with other guests. The Longfellow & The Abbott bathrooms are en suite and The Chamberlain & The Baxter bathrooms are across the hall from the rooms. Since there are only guest rooms on the second floor, it is rare to run into another guest. Make sure to read reviews of other's who have stayed in the rooms--you'll see that no one has found it to be a problem--plus, The Chamberlain & The Baxter rooms have the biggest bathrooms. Great tip! Scot & Laura
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast

Address: 140 Chadwick Street, Portland, ME 04102
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Portland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Portland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
THE CHADWICK BED & BREAKFAST: The New Standard of Bed & Breakfast LuxuryThe perfect Portland getaway, The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast provides thoughtful touches that invite a sense of pampering and romance in unsurpassed comfort and elegance. With endless events and activities offered in the Greater Portland area, you can keep active or spend time relaxing in the comfort of this classically appointed home away from home. Do as little or as much as you like.Whether visiting Maine for a long weekend, vacation, rest and relaxation, honeymoon, anniversary, wedding, or on business, The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast strives to provide a level of personal service that goes above and beyond, leaving you with a rich and memorable experience.Innkeeper & Owner E Scot Fuller, Assistant Innkeeper Adam Alfter, and the rest of The Chadwick Staff take great pride in providing tastefully appointed guest rooms—each with a private bathroom—beautifully landscaped grounds, and a five-star gourmet breakfast each and every morning. We can’t wait to have you experience it for yourself!Within walking distance, you’ll find Portland’s finest galleries, museums, theaters, shops, and restaurants. Guests often use The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast as a base for traveling to other nearby locations such as the Lakes Region of Western Maine, the rugged coastline of Acadia National Park, the sandy beaches of Southern Maine, and the breathtaking White Mountains of New Hampshire.Shoppers and restaurant enthusiasts alike will find whatever they are looking for not only downtown but just a car ride away in Freeport, Kittery, Bar Harbor, and Camden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Chadwick Bed And Breakfast
The Chadwick Hotel Portland
The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast Portland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chadwick Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.