We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Admission Fees?!?” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Portland Museum of Art

Portland Museum of Art
7 Congress Square, Portland, ME 04101
+1 207-775-6148
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 136 things to do in Portland
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Shopping, Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With an extensive permanent collection and nationally renowned exhibitions, the Portland Museum of Art is rightfully taking its place as the best regional museum in the country. The PMA boasts a considerable permanent collection, with beloved works of American, European, and Contemporary art, as well as significant holdings of Maine art-highlighting the rich artistic tradition of the state and its artists. The museum brings it all to life with unparalleled programming. From special member-only events, free school tours, and a commitment to family activities, to PMA Movies, curator talks, and exclusive tours of the Winslow Homer Studio-it's all happening at the PMA.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Two Admission Fees?!?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I enjoy coming to Portland for a weekend away & I usually enjoy visiting the Art Museum. This year, I was disappointed that there was an additional charge included with the usual fee to see the exhibit from the Brooklyn Art Museum. I very much am offended that this small museum needs to charge extra for a special,exhibition. This exhibition is the only draw for a regular of the museum. I decided against support the extra charge and left without seeing the art work. I recommend that we all stay away from this newish practice of double charging for museum entrance. I'm very disappointed that the museum is going route.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    172
    27
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Farmington, Maine, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very 'manageable' museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Unlike art museums in larger cities, this one is easy to take in during a single short visit, perfect for family members who are less enthralled with seeing yet another museum. The 'exhibits' in the historical home that is part of the museum seemed a bit out of place, but my girls enjoyed the bells that randomly rang based on electromagnet disturbances. (Got me.) There are some impressive artists in their collection. Well worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“I like this museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

I seem to time it right to go for free on the Friday night art walk. Always some interesting things in there spanning all different styles and time points. Just about the right size before you start getting overwhelmed or for me, tired and needing to get out of there. First Fri. is a fun time in general if you can time it right.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, New York, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The museum is beautiful. The collections are really first class and there was a peacefulness to the entire place. There wasn't really anyone around to answer questions when we were there but it was so pleasant to wander about and explore. I am used to the vastness of art museums in NYC so the smaller space was a nice change for me. I definitely recommend an afternoon there when you are visiting Portland.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangor maine
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always good exhibits”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Nothing negative, nice facilities, great permanent collection and good exhibits. Visit every time I am in Portland.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portland Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Portland Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portland Museum of Art, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.