We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Try the Greek comfort food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emilitsa

Emilitsa
547 Congress Street, Portland, ME 04101
(207) 221-0245
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 539 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Maine
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Try the Greek comfort food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Last week my husband and I had a very memorable meal here. At our waiter's suggestion, we started with the scallop and chicken liver appetizers. (I won't try to describe them -- it's easier to look at the menu on their website.) Both were amazing! The scallops were cooked perfectly, as were the livers. Both had a depth of flavor that was also obvious my my moussaka and hubby's ribs. The spices were spot on for all the dishes. It's hard to convey what a sumptuous eating experience this was.
We are in Portland about once a month and finally made it here. No doubt we will be back soon. The food, location, and friendly/helpful staff and owner are all pluses.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    34
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NH
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“An all around pleasant experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

I went for dinner this week with my daughter, and had an all around lovely meal. Our waitstaff was very helpful, especially when helping us decide on a wine. I was not familiar with the Greek wine selections, but enjoyed our choice, after a good rendering from our waitress. We had an octopus app. which was perfect in taste and texture. For our entrees we had duck, and a grilled doraude, my spelling may be off (fish) my daughters duck was done nicely, moist, and with just enough of a hint of the fat that brought a great flavor. My fish was equally satisfying. I like fish to be simple, so not to drown any natural flavor, and this hit it on the mark.
Desert was another treat, with a simple berry medley with marzcapone. I was recommended an after dinner drink of Meztaca (sp) , which was not a taste that worked for me.
The restaurant was pleasant, as was the staff. I note other reviews commented on the prices, though I felt they were completely in keeping with selections, and quality of the food and service. This is not just another nice restaurant, but a fine departure from the same old, same old.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
1 review
“Best atmosphere, best food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I dined at Emilitsa several times now and every time I left the restaurant with a great smile on my face and and happy belly!
The food is nothing but best quality and I am always amazed by the perfect balance of flavours and presentation! I ate in Greece many times and I have to say Emilitsa has taken Greek food to another level. Excellent quality, fantastic taste and outstanding service! The owners are incredibly friendly and professional and they bring their passion for great food in every dish that comes out of the kitchen. Moussaka is my all times favourite, but there is nothing on the menu that I would not advice. It is a MUST go to place in Portland!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Greek food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

So, I am from the DC metro area, and there is a large Greek population where I am at, so of course I am always going to Greek restaurants, festivals, and tastings. So that being said, this was some of the best Moussaka that I have ever had. It was delicious! It was a perfect blend of spices, eggplant, sauce, and beef. There was even little slivers of Greek yogurt at the bottom to add to the flavor. The service was suburb and the atmosphere was intimate and romantic. I would definitely suggest this place to anyone that has an appreciation of Greek food. My bf also had the souvlaki and the desert options were good as well. If in Portland, as must go.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, NH
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

We went to Emilitsa on our first night in Portland and we loved it. I was craving Greek food and it was delicious. As appetizer I had the sheeps milk cheese flambé with local whiskey ( metaxa I believe) and my friend had the jalapeño dip. The pita was fresh and good. Then he had the chicken and I had the spanakopita ( appetizer menu). Dessert was wonderful as well. He had the berries and metaxa and I had the baklava. Fantastic ! Wine was also good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emilitsa also viewed

 

Been to Emilitsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emilitsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.