We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals I've had in Portland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Emilitsa

Emilitsa
547 Congress Street, Portland, ME 04101
(207) 221-0245
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 540 Restaurants in Portland
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Maine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've had in Portland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Six of us went for dinner here last night. The service was excellent. The food was excellent. I can't say enough about this place. Its funny because I work downtown and have walked past this place dozens of times. The atmosphere is wonderful also. I would recommend this place in a heartbeat!

I had the appetizer of chicken livers. I've never had them before. I love trying new things. They were delicious. I had lamb for my main meal. Again, very good. Nobody at our table had anything bad to say about anything. We'll be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    35
    11
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Brattleboro, Vermont
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wow...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Emilitsa's probably doesn't need another rave, but it's getting one anyway!

The seared duck for me - crispy, sweet, tender, yummmm. The lamb (not chops) braised with lemon and yogurt for my husband - again (because I had to have a bite) fabulous. Dinner out is always a special occasion for us - and since we had driven from Vermont, we had high expectations. Met and exceeded! We didn't really want a sweet dessert and the little slices of feta were so lovely, creamy and not salty as feta can sometimes be, we asked if they could give us some feta with honey for dessert. They were lovely and accommodating and also added a touch of cracked pepper (after asking!). So lovely.

We will put Emilitsa's on our list of 3 hour drive worthy restaurants. It's a short list. Matter of fact, we've just started it...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Spectacular Greek food in a great setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is like going to the home of a gourmet Greek chef. Great food, in a nice exposed-brick-walled little restaurant. An amazing Greek wine selection (no, not retsina). Very nioce for a treat/semi-formal night out. Cozy and charming, with great service.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“A Great Place for a Special Night Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Once again, the Trip Advisor reviewers have it right. We picked Emilitsa for a special night out based on the outstanding reviews on this website. It was a great choice. This is the perfect restaurant for a special occasion. It is a small place with subdued lighting and somewhat rustic and understated decor. The service is prompt, attentive, informative and friendly. The best part by far, though, is the delicious and visually appealing food. From appetizers, through main courses, and then desserts, the food is incredible. This place is a real hit. We are so glad we went. It is expensive, to be sure, but is absolutely worth it for a special occasion. Go there!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Maine
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“not your typical Greek restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I expected the usual gyros, kabobs, souvlaki, moussaka, etc. but the menu offered those plus much more variety. I went on a Friday night around 6 which is a busy night in downtown Portland because the galleries, Portland Art Museum, etc. are open and because admission is free after 5. I was fortunate to get a table because after I was seated a few other people arrived and were turned away, or maybe told to come back later. Those with reservations were seated. It's a small restaurant, maybe 15 tables for 2. Nice ambiance. Even though I was a few tables away from the entrance, the owners had wisely encircled the door with a heavy drape, so there were no drafts every time someone entered. I was comfortably warm. While I studied the menu, I was served a small appetizer consisting of a pate with triangular thin crisps artfully presented. There were several appetizers, a few soups and salads, several entrees, a long wine list, a separate dessert menu. I chose a beet salad ($9) which was tasty, and for an entree thick medallions of duck (medium rare) with mashed carrots with cumin, a small portion of pate with bits of cheese, and carmelized onions ($31) , and an iced tea which they sweeten with honey($3). The portions were generous. For dessert I had the chocolate cheese cake ($9) with coffee ($2)--the cake wasn't very sweet and I didn't care for the bitter cocoa powder which was sprinkled on top. I don't often dine at restaurants with such prices, but it's always nice to treat oneself once in a while. I thoroughly enjoyed dinner. Servers were pleasant and prompt without being stressed or rushed. Their menu is not always the same, but you can see sample dishes on their website. Street parking. Handicapped accessible. Bar seated about 8 people. Music was not obtrusive and level of conversation not excessive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Emilitsa also viewed

 

Been to Emilitsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emilitsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.