We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2014 Graduation Lodging” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Poland Spring Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Poland Springs
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Poland Spring Resort
Save
You added Poland Spring Resort to your Saves list
640 Maine Street, Poland Springs, ME 04274   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poland Springs
Manchester, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“2014 Graduation Lodging”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Referred to by college - would have preferred they hadn't; paid extra for a child, on the premise fold-out couch would be made up; arrived late, couch not made up, no sheets available; went to lodge for sheets, had to wait for delivery; deliverer handed sheets to child; when we tried to put them on the couch, they covered about 2/3 of it; no phone in room; very little lighting (and a light was burnt out); toilet ran all night; little bar of soap, no shampoo - basically, a little less than Motel 6 quality at Hilton prices; when mentioned this (calmly) to owner's daughter at front desk upon check-out, response was a lackluster "I'm sorry"

Room Tip: choose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    68
    26
    17
    33
See reviews for
51
88
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gardiner, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is not a terrible place to stay at all. If you go there with the right expectations it can be quite pleasant. My wife and I were looking for an inexpensive overnight before a funeral and this place was available. The staff is quite pleasant and the rooms are very clean. The decor is dated but they don't advertise that they are anything other than a clean, simple place to put your head. If you are looking for a 5 Star Resort don't come here. The breakfast in the morning was about what you would expect of a budget motel breakfast, the beds were comfortable and the noise was minimal. Again, don't expect luxury. There isn't much in the area but the casino is up the road about 3 miles and they have a very good restaurant. Cyndi's Dockside, just down the road on the lake shore, is also pretty good. Overall, not a bad place to spend the night.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front side have a bit of road noise. Those in back are smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Went up for a weekend last summer with my father and brother in law for a guys trip away. The golf course was awesome for the stay and play price but the rooms were very outdated. The food buffet was good for breakfast but the dinner was horrible. Also, my brother in law and I are in our late 20's and there wasn't really anything to do around the area past 9pm. We ended up finding a package store and grabbing some beers and hanging out on our deck.

Probably wouldnt return again, only because it was very outdated and not for a younger crowd. But the golf was great and we had a good time together regardless or the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

Close to white mtns & the ocean buffets were good scenery beautiful & rooms nice. If you're looking for a cheap stay to get away & relax or explore this might be your kind of place. It was ideal for us.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Shore, MA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I've stayed here twice in recent months as it is close to my daughter's school. Both times I stayed in the Lodge. I found the accommodations to be clean, comfortable and an excellent value for the price. The staff is friendly and helpful, beginning with the reservation process. While not modern and luxurious, the Lodge is clean, cheerful and comfortable. Sub-compact rooms are tiny, but perfect for my first stay when I didn't plan t spend much time in the room. On my second stay we had a much larger room with a king-sized bed. This room also had a refrigerator and all rooms now have free wi-fi. Having the breakfast nook in the lobby was convenient and we enjoyed the availability of hot water for our tea in the evening. Selections in the morning were definitely adequate - bagels, English muffins, fruit, yogurt, instant oatmeal and cereal. The coffee was good and there was plenty of it. The weekend packages are definitely worth looking into. In addition to the continental breakfast, we received a $30 voucher to a nearby restaurant. We found our stay to be very relaxing and we'll definitely be back. The surrounding area is beautiful and there are many things to do and see within a short distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbot Village, Maine
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

My brother,his wife and me and my wife stayed at The Lodge Dec 9 th,2013 and realized that this is an older historic building and were not expecting marble and mahogany interior. (We had read the reviews) .We were well pleased with the building,amenities and professional staff. Our rooms were clean, the bed comfortable and reasonably priced. The continental breakfast and the mini refrig were extras included in the price.
While we only live 2 hours away we certainly recommend this business to friends and others and will be back. ( We liked its location with in a few miles of the Oxford Casino)
I'm sure some of the people who wrote reviews would have found problems with the Ritz-Carlton

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarasota, fl
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

My sisters and I booked a room at the hotel in September as an overnight sisters "get-a-way". While the grounds, views, etc. are nice, the room was the worst I'd ever stayed in. Shabby, and worst than that, not clean. No heat, no blankets, no nothing. The toilet had been used and not flushed.....need I say more. A visit to the spring house, the museum, and to walk the trails is worthwhile but find other overnight accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Poland Springs hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Poland Spring Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poland Spring Resort

Address: 640 Maine Street, Poland Springs, ME 04274
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Poland Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Poland Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Poland Spring Resort offers a stress free vacation in Maine. Delicious all-you-can-eat home-style buffets. Play on our 18-hole championship golf course, grass tennis courts, swimming, boating, hiking, nightly entertainment, min-golf, driving range and much more. Enjoy the sunset with a million dollar panoramic view of Presidential Mountain range and Mount Washington. Centrally located in the foothills of Western Maine and stress free since 1794. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Poland Spring Hotel Poland Springs
Poland Spring Springs
Poland Spring Resort Poland Springs, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Poland Spring Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.