We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“may day away.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wolf Cove Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Wolf Cove Inn to your Saves list
Wolf Cove Inn
5 Jordan Shore Drive, Poland, ME 04274   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Top 10 Hidden Escape!
Ranked #1 of 2 Poland B&B and Inns
Pelham, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“may day away.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

our time away was very relaxing in our newly remodeled suite the Arcadia room..sue and Roy could not do enough to make us happy..we shall return many times...looking for peace you will find it here..enjoy.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy F, Owner at Wolf Cove Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We love having return guests visit to see the new renovations and give such great feedback. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    22
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
21
66
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Great Falls, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

It is clear that new inn-keepers Roy and Sue take real joy in providing hospitality. They were constantly working to make sure our stay was the best it could be. Their renovated spaces feature lovely, soothing décor that lets the views be the star. Everything was clean and neat and nothing was overlooked—they even thoughtfully supply chilled water and little necessary items that a traveler might have forgotten in a station on the guest hallway. The breakfasts were yummy—homemade muffins and breads, fresh fruits, breakfast quiches, blueberry pancakes. All in all, this is an excellent place to settle in for a special event at Bates college(we were attending graduation), or just kick back, unwind and get some canoeing in on the scenic lake. MUCH more homey and peaceful than staying at an impersonal hotel. The Acadia Suite—with it’s living area featuring a gas fireplace and the spacious bathroom with jetted tub—gave our family ample room to spread out and relax.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy F, Owner at Wolf Cove Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Jill, thank you for your high praise. We built the new Acadia suite just for families like yours. We are very happy that it worked out for you! And congratulations on your new graduate!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

The inn just reopened under new management- owners Roy & Sue are welcoming & eager to accommodate. The physical location, on Tripp Lake, is stunning! The breakfast menu was varied & every selection was delicious. Every guest room had a lake view- on our final night we rented 2 additional rooms for family members. Pricing varies. The ground floor of the inn has large open areas that are comfortable for lounging, reading, playing a board game, etc. There is an outdoor, lakeside seating area, too. Don't pass up the opportunity to use the inn's 2 canoes & 2 kayaks. The inn is convenient to Bates College & far nicer than staying at any chain in Lewiston-Auburn.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy F, Owner at Wolf Cove Inn, responded to this review, August 31, 2014
Thank you for your kind words. it was wonderful seeing all the Bates families celebrating the great achievement of their children.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, New Hampshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Stayed for our anniversary and it was perfect in every aspect! The room, the hospitality and comfort! Excellent! Will be returning for sure! The food was great and staff very helpful with helping with dinning in the area! A great place to go for a couple retreat or a family weekend getaway!

Room Tip: higher floor is more spacious and good views! smaller rooms are also very nice for two!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

You only turn 50 once and my birthday could not have been better. The grounds are beautiful the rooms were comfortable inviting and very romantic. We had a suite on the top floor with a gas stove and jacuzzi tub. The staff did everything to help my lover make it the most romantic weekend of my life. Roses, balloons, chocolate covered strawberries soft robes and a very comfortable bed all awaited us when we arrived. The staff recommended a great restaurant for dinner, there was a light snow fall in the morning and the window overlooked a picture perfect lake. The breakfast prepared was delicious and plentiful, there was something for everyone. As a photographer that window in the morning were gift from heaven. I can't wait to go back and walk around the lake. It is not often I look forward to going back before I actually leave but this place is an exception! I truly believe it will become that special place I go to celebrate all the important milestones my lover and I will have in our life together. Thee are many friends I want to bring there as well to share what we experienced. There are 10 rooms and I want to rent the place next time!!!! Comfort, luxury, romance, spiritual and then some....go you won't be disappointed!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms with windows on the west side have amazing views of the lake!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

It was a perfect overnight get away for a retired couple. The minute we arrived at the Wolf Cove Inn we felt at home. Our room, on the second floor in the corner, was beautiful. We saw a marvelous sunset over the lake that lit up our room. We enjoyed relaxing in front of the window with our wine. We had a quiet dinner at Cindy's Dockside and then a frustrating few hours at Oxford Casino. Then back to the quiet BB. Rather than watching TV in the huge TV room, we just read. It was great!! The next morning, we had delicious blueberry pancake breakfast prepared by Helen. Our hostess was so helpful and friendly. We loved our short but pleasant stay at the Wolf Cove Inn.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Gloucester, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Our group of handspinners and knitters has been getting together twice a year at the inn since 2007 and can't imagine going anywhere else. The staff is always wonderful, breakfasts are superb and the setting is lovely. We are welcomed with all our wheels and gear and made so comfortable in luxury surroundings. It doesn't escape our notice, either, that the inn is immaculate (and many of us have stayed in B&Bs in the U.S. and abroad). As long as this inn exists, our group will be there for our good times together!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wolf Cove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wolf Cove Inn

Address: 5 Jordan Shore Drive, Poland, ME 04274
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Poland
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Poland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wolf Cove Inn Bed and Breakfast offers more than just a comfortable bed for the night. A peaceful, romantic getaway on the shores of Tripp Lake in Poland, Maine. The inn style is lakeside ambiance with a true Maine flavor. Explore the gardens, or lounge lakeside in the gazebo, sun porch , or on the flagstone patio. Take a swim, go canoeing or simply watch the sun set across the lake. Come and Relax! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Wolf Cove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wolf Cove Inn Poland, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wolf Cove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.