We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome view from their deck.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Peaks Island House

Peaks Island House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Peaks Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Peaks Island House
Save
You added Peaks Island House to your Saves list
20 Island Avenue, Peaks Island, ME   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Peaks Island B&B and Inns
boston,ma.
Top Contributor
221 reviews 221 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“Awesome view from their deck.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

It's my parents favorite place to stay on Peaks and my favorite place for lunch. The food is good,reasonably priced, and I could look at the view all day! and it's so close to the ferry terminal that it's an easy lunch stop from Portland. We have been eating there for years and haven't been let down yet.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ridgeway, Virginia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
332 helpful votes 332 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Everyone raves about room #5 and it took us awhile to find out that it is a detached cottage with a kitchenette and balcony. We stayed in one of the four rooms under the restaurant, accessed by the service entrance to the restaurant. The staff was excellent, helpful, and always somewhere at hand, always busy. They led us to our rooms with no questions about check-in time. The key was in the door, the paperwork on the table. All we had to do was sign the paperwork and they picked it up the next day. The atmosphere is very laid back and very welcoming.
The four rooms under the restaurant face out on the bay looking towards House Island and Portland. When Mumford & Sons played a free concert on the Promenade in Portland over the weekend, the music drifted across the water and most of my party got to enjoy seeing the fireworks that finished the concert. The ferry boat dock is a stone's throw away and it was fun to watch it come in and go out. There are no air conditioners because they are rarely needed on the island and, even during the hottest week of the Maine summer, I found that to be true. We slept with the windows open and the sound of the surf on the beach outside, the boats and ship moving about in the harbor, and the sound of fog horns throughout the night. I even loved the sounds of the activity overhead as they closed the restaurant and moved tables and chairs around. Overall, just a wonderful experience.
I don't recommend their beach for shell hunting unless you wear shoes. There is a lot of jagged, broken glass. Instead, it is a short walk to a beautiful public beach they call Sandy Beach. It is beautiful and pristine. There is also a small cemetery just off the beach with gravesites dating back to the 1700's. You can walk around the island but it is a long walk - somewhere between 5 and 7 miles. If you are the adventurous type, there is a gun battery on the "outback" side of the island that looked like a lot of fun but would probably be buggy at dusk and dawn. Be sure to visit the Seaside Shop that you can see from the rooms. There is a photographer who sells her work there (Christine Cassidy) who has the most remarkable work for sale at very reasonable prices. I bought 3 of her prints to hang up in the house. The food at the restaurant is very good. Great haddock. The chowder is very rich (I liked it) and their spinach and feta soup is good too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White River Junction, Vermont
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Peaks Island is a gem in itself. A twenty minute ferry ride on Casco Bay Lines from Portland, you are transported into a slower, quieter realm. The Peaks Island House offers all you need: The rooms are modest and cozy, but look out onto Casco Bay and the sunset. The upstairs restaurant is quite good. Down the lawn is the beach and kayak rental. At the corner is the local cafe and the ice cream shop. It's a sweet place for just the two of you.

Room Tip: They're all good. Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011 via mobile

The Peaks Island House is the perfect place to stay while visiting Peaks Island. It's simple, clean and affordable and offers the BEST views of Portland.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

After a lovely bike ride around all of Peaks Island and then picking up some ice cream from the store, there is nothing better then walking over to our lovely room and sitting on our balcony and looking at the water. Room 5 is slightly separate so I recommend it. The staff was very nice as well. Room isn't luxurious but it is quaint and the value is good on an island with few accommodations.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Maine
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

We recently attended step son's wedding on Peaks Island. We wanted to book a string of room for our family - but need the rooms to be affordable. We booked 5 rooms at a reasonable fee. The family enjoyed the accomadations, as well as the upstairs dining. We were able to enjoy the views of the ferry comming, walkiing the island, renting bikes and caught up on the family, enjoying our deck. We are already planning on next year.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

Had lunch here over the weekend. The choices were typical bar/grill food, but everything was quite tasty and the servers were super-friendly and the service was fast. It was a beautiful day outside, and the view from the back porch is lovely! Lunch for 2 with soft drinks, entrees and an appetizer came to under $30.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Peaks Island House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peaks Island House

Address: 20 Island Avenue, Peaks Island, ME
Location: United States > Maine > Peaks Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Peaks Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Peaks Island House Hotel Peaks Island
Peaks Island House Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peaks Island House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.