We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deteriorated Pizza Quality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Brewpub

Bear Brewpub
36 Main St, Orono, ME 04473-4006
207-866-4111
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 20 restaurants in Orono
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Brew Pub
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Orono, Maine
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Deteriorated Pizza Quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The quality of Bear Brew Pub's brick oven pizza has gone downhill. Seriously. We ordered sausage and red pepper pizza and there was barely enough sauce to cover the large pie. The sausages were mere particles. There was hardly enough cheese visibly present, let alone tastable. I have no idea if they are trying to save money or just see if anyone is noticing, but we will be talking to the owners. This place could be great!! It's a college town, Pat's Pizza is nearby but brick oven pizza is best! Come On, Bear Brew, get it together!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    6
    7
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orono, Maine, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Our favorite neighborhood pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

This is a great little pub in downtown Orono, home of the University of Maine. BB has terrific pizza, made in their own brick oven. They also make a terrific burger, and have a wide variety of entrees, sandwiches, pub grub, etc. They serve beer brewed right across the street as well as several others on tap and a good bar. There is an outside dining area for summer evenings, and a club on the second floor for after dining hours. We have always been more than pleased with the food quality, service, and atmosphere at BearBrew. Even though it's a pub in a college town, there's no problem taking the family there for supper. Daily specials make it easy on the wallet, too!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madison maine
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stopped in for lunch and was surprised to see that the normal 16 taps were being removed to set up for 28!!! YES 28 TAPS... Can't IMAGINE all the Beers coming to this little pub.
I had the Pulled Pork Sandwich, and was amazed at the SIZE of it. I could HARDLY finish it!!!
Ice Cold Beer, Terrific sandwich, it's a NO BRAINER!
10 out of 10

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, beer, and entertainment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

They have great bone-in wings here, I also recommend any of the pizza's and the Montreal Burger (A1 burger). Good selection of beer on tap including local favorites.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orono, ME
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in the Greater Bangor Area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

This pub has changed hands twice since I moved to the area, but ever since they started firing up that wood oven, the pizza has always been great. Sure, you can go next door to Pat's for a bargain pie, but it just won't satisfy the way a Woodman's pizza does. Try the spinach and artichoke dip appetizer to get the juices going, and then dig in to a nice piece of thin crust pizza that tastes like a smoky slice of heaven.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bear Brewpub also viewed

 

Been to Bear Brewpub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Brewpub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.