We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay. Wish I had more time.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Inn and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Black Bear Inn and Conference Center to your Saves list
Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Godfrey Dr., Orono, ME 04473   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
GreenLeadersBronze level
Topsham, Maine
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place to stay. Wish I had more time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My stay was brief as I was traveling on business but the experience was great. The greeting at arrival was warm and friendly. I missed their dinner time but asked where I could get a container of milk and they immediately made that happen without even charging me. The room was comfortable with a fridge, Keurig, microwave, large screen TV, etc. There was a slight odor to the room but nothing major.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for you great review. We are so glad you had a great experience. We often have great reviews about our friendly staff. Glad you enjoyed our room amenities. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    65
    16
    8
    1
See reviews for
86
28
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel last October for five nights. It was our second destination in the US, after having just spent a very hectic five days in Manhattan New York.
The hotel staff were very warm and friendly, giving us advice on local places of interest. We were in Orono visiting our daughter who was undertaking a semester student exchange at the University of Maine, for which the hotel was ideally situated being a ten minute car ride away.
The first thing that struck us was the size of the room. It was huge ! Along with two double beds, this room was very comfortable.
The dining room was quite small for the size of the hotel, and breakfast was a self service buffet arrangement, and was fairly limited in choice. We had one evening meal in the hotel, which was good. The only downside was that there was no hotel bar, which we thought was unusual. However, we overcame that obstacle by nipping over the road to the supermarket.
Overall though, a very enjoyable stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your review. We are so glad you found our hotel handy to visiting your daughter at U. Maine. So glad the room was comfortable. It's great to hear your dinner with us was good. We have had great success with our cafe. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We spent three days here during the Canada Day (July 1) weekend: two adults, two kids and a dog. The staff was lovely in every case. I was very impressed with the welcome our pup got, and the nicest set of pet-owner rules I've seen--standard rules for her but phrased in a friendly, fun way. Also the pet-friendly room was fresh and clean, not the smelly, worn sort that's often relegated to pet owners.

The room was quiet serviceable, though I've had better mattresses and more luxurious linens. The staff made an effort to be hospitable, with warm cookies for the kids and a glass of wine for the grown ups in the evening. I loved that there was plenty of greenspace around the hotel; it all felt clean and safe.

The breakfast room was a bottle-neck as the area where the food was, was cramped; for instance, if someone was waiting for their toast to pop, other guests couldn't get at the bread or cereal. Simple choices, things to toast, a waffle station, a little fruit, but enough to get us out for the day. We had a great full breakfast down the road at Governor's.

It's very handy the I-95 exit and easy to find.

Room Tip: We asked to be away from the back side and highway noise. Pet friendly rooms are only on 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 29, 2014
Thank you for your great review. We enjoy having pets stay here with us. Glad you enjoyed your stay here with us. Hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bow, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

This is such a sweet place. For the same price as a cookie-cutter chain hotel, you get a homey inn, with a relaxing, Maine/NE motif. The front desk staff were helpful, polite & courteous. We did not eat in the Black Bear Cafe, as we ate out for dinner (great restaurants so close!) We stayed here while visiting UMaine, and it is so close. Very clean. We were not here when busy, so I cannot comment on busy season/noises neighbors. Very well done! Thank you! Love the black bears.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom P, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We appreciate your kind words. We pride our selves in our customer service and standing out for the chain hotels. Glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope you can stay with again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We travel from Iowa to Prince Edward Island every June to reach our cottage by the sea. Once you leave Bangor, Maine, it's a long way to a good place to stay and since it's usually late in the day, we're always ready to stop. Imagine our surprise one year when we found the Black Bear Inn and Conference Center just off I-95 not far from the Canadian border. Conference center in the name made us think, "might not be what we want, i.e. quiet." But, the inn was and remains virtually empty during the early summer months: no big conferences, a welcoming staff, a teddy bear left on the bed for you to hug (when a synthetic hug is better than no hug), a safe, nice parking lot with plenty of spots near the front door and a tiny restaurant with amazingly good food designed by one of Maine's gourmet cooks, prepared by an up and coming chef and presented by a lovely local miss with travel dreams of her own.

Now, Maine has become a serious destination for us. We usually stop at L.L. Bean in Freeport and refresh our summer wardrobes a little. For the last couple years, we've bought some treats at L.L. Bean, and, then, headed for the Black Bear Inn,. We can get there for a pleasant walk about along the banks of Orono's lazy, woodsy river, return for a late and delicious dinner, chat for a while with our hostesses and wander past a replica of moose and pictures of bears to our cabin-like, casually elegant room for a grand night's sleep. Breakfast is a little skimpy and nothing was there for the gluten/lactose free crowd except hard boiled eggs (yuck). Coffee was good, though. And it was good to stop a couple hours later for brunch. We view the Black Bear Inn as a gift from the God of Travel whoever that might be.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the inner side away from I-95. If you get on the highway side be sure and pull th...
See more room tips
Green Features: Since the theme is woodsy, the usual environmentally-friendly protocols are evident throughout the hotel. SeeThe Black Bear's write up about how they maintain an environmentally friendly place for travelers.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom P, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for the amazing review. We really appreciate your kind words. So glad to hear you look forward to staying with us. We love our repeat guests, we enjoy seeing familiar faces. Thank you for bringing the gluten/lactose free breakfast issues to my attention. We will work on this. We look forward to your next visit. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Very accommodating. Facilities were clean and well organized. Enjoyed our visit. Staff was pleasant and most helpful. Ate dinner for the first time of all our stays and was pleasantly surprised with the quality of the meal and its presentation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom P, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for the great review. We really appreciate all your kind words. We take pride in our great staff. Our café has been very popular, glad to hear your meal was delicious. We hope you can return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights for June 2014 orientation at U Maine. On the first night we were later than expected and when we called ahead to let them know and asked about kitchen hours, they offered to take our order and had dinner waiting when we arrived. After driving 10 hrs from upstate NY this was so welcoming. The food was wonderful, and I was able to take my half full glass of wine to my room. We did not have breakfast at the hotel but found the front desk staff to be very friendly and never failed to greet us as we came and went. Also an added bonus is the proximity to some wonderful running trails. I will definately stay again when visiting my son at college.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom P, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Thank you for your great review. So glad to hear our staff was so helpful with getting your dinner for you. We pride ourselves in our customer service. We look forward to having you stay with us over your son's college years. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Bear Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn and Conference Center

Address: 4 Godfrey Dr., Orono, ME 04473
Location: United States > Maine > Orono
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Bear Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Inn Conference Center & Suites is an award-winning hotel conveniently located at exit 193 of I-95 and minutes from UMaine campus. The hotel is 100% non-smoking and the popular choice for UMaine visitors, conference attendees and tourists from all over the world. Each room offers a refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffee maker. Guests can access our free high speed-Wi-Fi. While you're here, enjoy a delicious meal from our on-site cafe, open for dinner from 5-8pm, Monday-Saturday. With 7,560 square feet of conference space, we are the area's premiere destination for weddings, banquets, and corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Black Bear Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Orono
Best Western Orono
Orono Best Western
Black Bear Inn And Conference Center Orono, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.