We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Inn and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Black Bear Inn and Conference Center to your Saves list
Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Godfrey Dr., Orono, ME 04473   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
GreenLeadersBronze level
Woolwich, Maine, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We loved our night there. They are very pet friendly and the beds were comfy. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. We would definitely stay there again!! It was convenient to UMO too and that was most helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. We appreciate you taking time to write a review. We are so happy to hear you and your pet enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy you found our location convenient and our people friendly and helpful. Take care and we look forward to your next stay with us.


Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    65
    16
    8
    1
See reviews for
86
28
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waterville, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

We stay here year after year to attend the Maine State Swimming Competition. The staff is extremely friendly and attentive to our needs. The early breakfast makes for an easy and yummy start to the day. We appreciate the wine, cheese, and cookies as we arrive. Clean rooms and cozy decor. Definitely would stay here again! Can't wait to see the new addition of the fireplace in the lobby next time!

Room Tip: Jacuzzi suites are well-worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you so much for being a loyal guest. We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. We look forward to the State Swim Meet each year. We are happy you enjoy the wine and cheese reception. Next Year you will get to enjoy it in front of our nice new lobby fireplace! Take care and thank you again.


Sincerely,


Amanda D. Schmidt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

The Black Bear Inn has cute, clean, comfortable rooms. The Black Bear theme is everywhere. The breakfast was just "okay." It would have been nice to have had bagels or some protein options other than cold hard boiled eggs. We stayed here for the Y State Swimming Championships. We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: A good place to lay your head for the night... clean and right off of the highway... close to UMO.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to write a review. We are happy you will stay here again. I'm sorry about not having bagels, we usually do offer bagels. Hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit and yogurt are our healthier options. We are glad you appreciated our Black Bear decor. Thank you again and we look forward to your next stay.



Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

When you stay at a chain, you know what you may get - but you also know what you will not get. At the Black Bear Inn, you are greeted with a smile - you have a clean, comfortable room. You have coffee in the room - and then you see the plugs on the bedside table with USB ports to charge all your devices - you have an awesome TV with a LOT of channels. Then there is a tray to bring back some of the continental breakfast back to the room. It is the little things that make this place a great stay in the area at a great price.

Room Tip: Back side may have a little more noise because closer to the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Guest Relations Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate all the positive things you pointed out for us and our future guests. Please feel free to request a parking lot room. The Parking Lot side is quieter, especially if you are a light sleeper. We are happy you found the trays and the many outlets helpful. Thank you again, we look forward to your next stay with us. Take care.


Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We Were In The Area For The Rain Show At Umaine And Spent The Night Here. Very convenient To The School With Many Other Things To Do In The Area. Very Comfy Room And The People Were Very Personable. Have Stayed There Before And Would Definately Stay Again!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us again. We are happy to hear you were in town for Rain. We love it when our guests support us and the Collins Center. It is great that you found our people friendly and your room comfortable. We look forward to your next stay with us. Take Care and thank you again.



Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARBLEHEAD
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Overnight stay for a hockey game with U of Maine....very nice and convenient hotel. Pleasant staff, rooms were clean and comfortable, and continental breakfast was fine with good coffee. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking time to write a review. We are happy to hear that you found our staff friendly and our breakfast and coffee good. Thank you for recommending our hotel. We look forward to your next visit with us. Take Care.



Sincerely,



Amanda Schmidt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komodokd
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I stayed here with my family during July. We chose this place since we stayed here a few years ago and liked it. It was a more affordable option than staying in a Bar Harbor hotel. Location is good since it is right off of I-95 just north of Bangor and about an hour drive from Bar Harbor. We opted to get a mini suite that has more space than a standard room and also comes with a mini fridge. The beds were decorated with quilts with bear art on it. A stuffed animal black bear was also on top of one of the beds. Beds were comfy and room was clean. Downstairs they had a well equipped gym and sauna. There is a free breakfast, but there seemed to be less options in terms of food than the last time we stayed there. Check in and check out went smoothly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, Front Office Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you so much for staying with us again. We appreciate your repeat business and you taking the time to write a review. We are happy that you enjoyed the more spacious mini suite and refrigerator. We are glad you found our beds comfortable and clean as well. We look forward to your next stay with us. Thank you again. Take Care.


Sincerely,


Amanda Schmidt
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Bear Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn and Conference Center

Address: 4 Godfrey Dr., Orono, ME 04473
Location: United States > Maine > Orono
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Bear Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Inn Conference Center & Suites is an award-winning hotel conveniently located at exit 193 of I-95 and minutes from UMaine campus. The hotel is 100% non-smoking and the popular choice for UMaine visitors, conference attendees and tourists from all over the world. Each room offers a refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffee maker. Guests can access our free high speed-Wi-Fi. While you're here, enjoy a delicious meal from our on-site cafe, open for dinner from 5-8pm, Monday-Saturday. With 7,560 square feet of conference space, we are the area's premiere destination for weddings, banquets, and corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Black Bear Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Orono
Best Western Orono
Orono Best Western
Black Bear Inn And Conference Center Orono, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.