We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Bear Inn and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Black Bear Inn and Conference Center to your Saves list
Black Bear Inn and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Godfrey Dr., Orono, ME 04473   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
GreenLeadersBronze level
Springfield, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“Very comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We've stayed here several times and have always found it to be very clean and comfortable and the staff if very congenial. We did have a child in the room over us who was running and jumping after 11:00 p.m. but that's not the hotel's fault! Looking forward to staying there next year on our trip to Maine.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your kind words. We are very popular with kids because we are smoke free but I think they should be in bed before 11pm. Thanks again and we hope you visit again in the near future. Tom Palmer/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    65
    16
    8
    1
See reviews for
86
28
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Orono, Maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We had very good service and excellent food at this hotel. Sample menu tenderlion marsala'
Grilled shrimp with squash ravioli, rosemary orange salmon

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We have a small cafe but you are right....the food is really good. The complimentary wine and cheese reception is the perfect way to unwind before dinner. Please visit us again soon! Tom Palmer/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orono, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This is a nice place to stay just a little to noisy for me.You hear traffic all night,and not to mention the Horse that is walking around in the room above you.Breakfast selection is so so.
All in all this is a VERY Noisy Motel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am sorry that your stay was uncomfortable due to the noise.We have added waffles to our complimentary breakfast. It has been a big hit. I hope you visit again and get a chance to try them. In the mean time we will work on the noise issue. Thanks again, Tom Palmer/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012 via mobile

This could've been a nice hotel, but several small issues add up to a negative review. We had to walk through a cloud of cigarette smoke at the front door to check in. On a Friday afternoon, The front desk needs a second clerk so guests don't have to wait so long. Outside temperature was in the 70s, but it was at least ten degrees higher in the corridors and stayed that way all night. The room television was the old tube type with a failing picture tube. Air conditioner was loud and full of dust bunnies. Box spring cover was torn. Pillows were small and varied in firmness. Window drapes did little to darken the room. Shower head was loose and sprayed water over the shower curtain. Cups provided were too small for the Keurig 1 cup coffee maker. Free breakfast was like being in my own kitchen, except that my waffle maker is not on the opposite side of my lobby. My biggest complaint is that the few staff I did see, did not greet or acknowledge me, even in the tiny kitchen. Nice grounds though.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 3, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and giving us your feedback. We will be reviewing all your comments at our staff meeting. I can assure you that your comments will be addressed. I hope you give us another chance because I know you will have a good experience. Tom Palmer/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Portland, Maine
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

We spent one night at the Black Bear Inn on our way to Northern Maine. We found the rooms to be very clean and the beds very comfortable. The staff at the front desk were very courteous, knowledgeable, helpful and friendly. Continental breakfast was very good as well. Coffee was excellent. We would definitely stay here again should the need arise.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, General Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, March 20, 2012
Thank you very much. It is our pleasure to host our friends from southern Maine. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Choctaw, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Just returned from a week there. The hotel is in the process of some, in my opinion, much needed updates, but nothing hindered our stay. The front desk staff and the general manager were all fantastic. The dinner we had for my dad's 70th birthday was second to none. Fabulous meal, wonderful crew and just an all around great time. Decorations were very nice and there was nothing more we could've asked for or expected. If you're planning an event in this area, this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Try the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, General Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, February 8, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. I will post for our staff especially our food and beverage crew. They are good and they will appreciate your feed back. Tom Palmer/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

My wife and I spent 10 days at the Black Bear in June 2010, part of the tima as delegates to the annual meeting of the Dragonfly Society of the Americas. As "foreigners" we were made especially welcome and the front of house staff did everything they could to make us feel at home. Our room on the second floor was clean and airy and the breakfast area always clean and with enough seating - even during the conference. My only complaint was a very poor, tough steak served early in our stay - enough to make us eat dinner out for the rest of the visit. But there is no shortage of good food in the Orono area. We would unhesitatingly stay at the Black Bear on any future visits.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thpalmer3, General Manager at Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
Thank you and all the members of the Dragonfly Society. It was a pleasure working with your group. I will communicate your comments with our hotel staff and speak with the chef about the steak. I apologize for that poor meal and we will work to ensure that doesn't happen in the future. Hope to see again in the near future. Best regards, Tom Palmer/GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Bear Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Bear Inn and Conference Center

Address: 4 Godfrey Dr., Orono, ME 04473
Location: United States > Maine > Orono
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Black Bear Inn and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Bear Inn Conference Center & Suites is an award-winning hotel conveniently located at exit 193 of I-95 and minutes from UMaine campus. The hotel is 100% non-smoking and the popular choice for UMaine visitors, conference attendees and tourists from all over the world. Each room offers a refrigerator, microwave, and Keurig coffee maker. Guests can access our free high speed-Wi-Fi. While you're here, enjoy a delicious meal from our on-site cafe, open for dinner from 5-8pm, Monday-Saturday. With 7,560 square feet of conference space, we are the area's premiere destination for weddings, banquets, and corporate events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Black Bear Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Bear Hotel Orono
Best Western Orono
Orono Best Western
Black Bear Inn And Conference Center Orono, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Bear Inn and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.