We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick trip to Maine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of University Inn Academic Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added University Inn Academic Suites to your Saves list
University Inn Academic Suites
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   5 College Avenue, Orono, ME 04473   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orono
GreenLeadersBronze level
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Quick trip to Maine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Had to pick up the boys at UMaine and needed a one night before heading home. Tried the University Inn as it was about 2 minutes from Campus. The place was clean and tidy. My room had all the amenities I could need, and the free moring brunch was great. As good if not better than any chain hotel. We will be staying there again in the furure.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    95
    22
    8
    2
See reviews for
118
41
20
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maple Grove
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

very clean and well kept, reminds you of hotel stays when I was younger.
Breakfast is excellent and the staff was outstanding.
Very close to University - heads up though...25 mph only on the road to U of Maine, almost got a welcome to Maine card from the cities finest!

Room Tip: Request riverside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I am originally from the Orono area but had not been back in years. There are only two options for hotels so I was hoping the University Inn would be ok. We stayed just one night and I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the rooms. Our room was large, newly updated, clean and quite. This was not a time where there were many guests but still it could have been noisy but wasn't. I was especially glad we had a room looking out on the Stillwater river. There was mist on the water in the morning and as the cars went over the bridge it felt very homey and there was such a lovely fall feel. The breakfast we didn't really take advantage of because we had eaten way too much the night before but I did go down and saw that it was one of the more varied on our trip with hot eggs, bacon etc. I thought the breakfast area could have been easier to access but really thats being picky. Overall it was a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: For sure have a room that looks out on the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I was very happy with my stay at the University Inn in Orono, ME. I was in town for business at the University of Maine-Orono. I have stayed in many motels due to business trips that take me to lots of small towns across the Northeast. University Inn was well situated, both near campus and within walking distance to a small downtown area with lots of food options. I also had a beautiful view through sliding glass doors looking out over the river and bridge. The room was very clean and on top of the usual shampoo/conditioner, soap, there were extra niceties like a vanity kit and mouthwash. The staff was extremely nice and helpful and the public spaces were well kept, including the dining area they had set up for breakfast. I will most certainly stay at the University Inn again when I'm in Orono next fall.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed most recently at the University Inn for homecoming weekend. We haven't stayed here in a number of years, and I was pleasantly surprised by the room upgrades, including new tvs, updated linens and "refreshed" bathrooms. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was well appointed. I do feel the price was high, however it was homecoming so that may have been a factor.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raymond, Maine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We have made this our preferred location while in Orono for many years and have been very pleased with the continuing improvements. The renovations have been great and the breakfasts are also very good. At this last trip we enjoyed the live music at the bar and the free drinks offered to the guests. Many kudos to the management.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I'll admit my travel experiences have been mostly with 5 Star Hotels and so staying at the UI for UMAINE Homecoming 2013 my expectations were dubious. NOT so, our room was comfortable especially the bed and seating. Everything was there for a great stay including the upgraded bathroom toiletries and luxurious towels. I jumped on the high speed no charge Internet, got my business done and off to festivities several sponsored by the Inn including live lounge entertainment and tailgating at the football game. You couldn't ask for more from Front Desk assistance to ownership to overall stay. I'm so pleased I've booked for next year and beyond. This California boy's expectations were realized. Perfecto.

Room Tip: Seek out the lower Stillwater River views and walk out to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to University Inn Academic Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about University Inn Academic Suites

Address: 5 College Avenue, Orono, ME 04473
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Orono
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Orono
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — University Inn Academic Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Stillwater River in the charming college town of Orono, University Inn Academic Suites is committed to Downeast hospitality. We are within walking distance to some of downtown Orono's finest restaurants and driving distance to many attractions of Downeast Maine. Our property has access to the Stillwater River with some of the best fishing in Maine. Being only 1/2 of a mile from the University of Maine, we are the closest accommodations around, as well as also minutes from the Bangor Mall and LL Bean and many historic sites, including day trips to Acadia National Park , Baxter State Park and the Moosehead Lake Region. The University Inn is a family run Inn with a newly renovated building. All of our spacious rooms have private balconies with many of them overlooking the river, as well as a refrigerator, microwave and Keurig coffee maker. Our seasonal outdoor heated pool with bar service is the perfect way to relax or spend time with friends & family. We offer free wireless in all of our rooms, complimentary hot breakfast, fitness & recreation center, a smoke free and environmentally conscious building and limited pet friendly rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your University Inn Academic Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
University Hotel Academic
University Motel Academic
University Inn Academic Suites Orono, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage University Inn Academic Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.