We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A precious gem of nature in Orono!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orono Bog Boardwalk

Orono Bog Boardwalk
Orono, ME
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 Attractions in Orono
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Orono, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A precious gem of nature in Orono!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have walked at the Bog with my 98 yr. old aunt and with young children in all seasons! I have completed 5 oil paintings of the rare plants and foliage there. This is a must see destination!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orono, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and serene”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Close to Bangor Mall but feels a million miles away from the hustle and bustle. Once you get out of the wooded area and enter the open bog the views are just stunning. Rare bog plants and birds are at home in the bog and often can be seen from the walk.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely place to walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

There were so many Lupines and Lady Slippers this time of year it was amazing. The only thing we found was the trails could have been marked a bit better. There are a couple of parking lots, we had to walk a bit further to find the one we parked in. Lots of people were visiting the Bog Walk and using the trails.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOlden, Maine
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“one of a kind place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Great opportunity to walk in a peat bog and see all the carnivorous plants and take in a wonderful wetland. It is self guided and full of unusual plants. We saw a bear there once and lots of birds, deer and snakes. The school kids love the walk. The boardwalk is wheelchair accessible and there are many trails around. Hard to believe a city the size of Bangor really has the foresight to have a preserved park like this. Any season.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermon, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Bog Walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Awesome! Just beautiful and it is a great way to see the bog otherwise we wouldn't be able to get to see it so intimately

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orono Bog Boardwalk also viewed

 

Been to Orono Bog Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orono Bog Boardwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.