We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Beach Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Beach Inn to your Saves list
Grand Beach Inn
198 East Grand Ave., Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 44 Hotels in Old Orchard Beach
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not what we expected.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel has cottages adjacent to the main property. My husband relocated to Maine (we are from Oklahoma) and wanted to surprise him for Thanksgiving. I spoke with the general manager on the phone initially, he was very nice. He said their largest cottage . The Captains Cottage would be available that week, and even offered to let us rent it for the smaller cottages price. My husband arrived first and paid for the week. . We did not get the cheaper rate, it was over 900 dollars. It looks nice and big from the outside and it's a short walk to the beach.. but once we went inside, they did not have the heat on for us. It was FREEZING. We had to keep coats and gloves on for nearly 3 hours. I asked specifically on the phone about the kitchen...because I planned on making dinner. I was told it had a fully equipped kitchen. No. It had an "easy bake oven". It was tiny! There was not even so
much as a knife in there. No dish stopper, I had to buy a lot of things just to function for the week. The place was filthy. Cobwebs..dust.. There was 1 thin papery blanket on the
beds. No extra blankets in the place,no extra pillows, there was 6 of us, 3 towels were there. We assumed housekeeping would be in during the week... nope. Had to walk to the office everytime. The house is also severely slanted, so it makes you dizzy. The stairs are steep and slanted. Dangerous. My daughter and myself slid down them multiple times. Also there is a wooden overhanging at the bottom of the stairs, so of your tall. .you will bump your head everytime. The wrap around porch is nice.. All in all.. There are plenty of other places to rent in Old Orchard that are a better value. The Man that worked in the office was a sweetheart... And he works his tail off. He was running around all the time. And even helped us get our car out of the snow, and the neighbors.would I stay there again? Maybe in one of the rooms for an overnight. .not an extended stay or in the cottages.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    43
    30
    20
    103
See reviews for
103
51
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2014

It's disappointing to find owners that over price the property during the summer months, then neglect to make improvements during the off season. I guess the Canadians will keep paying for the location and not worry about the conditions. The staff the hire tries to put on a good face but without support from the owner, they tend not to stay long. There are other places along the beach where your money would be better spent.

Room Tip: different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Old Orchard Beach hotels

Sambro, Nova Scotia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2014

The beds needed some repairs and the wifi was nonexistent. Wifi is really needed when you don't have a usa cell phone with data. The towels weren't changed daily and facecloths and hand towels were not included. The rooms and grounds were otherwise clean and tidy.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvalde, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2014 via mobile

Well, let me begin by saying I never got a chance to see inside. My flight was a mess that day and I was to arrive very late. I called ahead and spoke with staff, they assured me that someone was available 24 hours a day and I would have no problem checking in. This was an hour and half from airport. So to my dismay when I arrived at 1:30 am, no one was to be found. No note or key awaited me. Tried to call, got an answering service who told me they could not help in any way. So I had to travel for a ways further trying to find another place to stay, very very challenging at 3:00 am. I did get a refund, but not much of an apology. I was also told by several people that, it was not a very reputable place and they would never stay there.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2014 via mobile

So was told upon booking that it was a ocean view balcony room! First lie I had a view of the grungy parking lot. Neighbor was extremely noisy tv blaring all night. Parking lot must have had a party since people were yelling till 5am.front desk staff is a joke the kid was wearing bright short shorts and no uniform for all I know it was some random person checking me in. Beds were horrible. Pillows so flat and worn out. Only half roll of toilet paper for two ppl to use for two days. I've ran a hotel and I will say crack houses were in better shape

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2014

The price was decent compared to other places in the area, but you get what you pay for. I didn't have a good feeling from the start; even though it was early in the summer season everything was dinged up - scuff marks and holes on the walls, grimy carpets - clearly no offseason maintenance had been done. The room was no better. It smelled of stale smoke, some cabinets were held together with tape, almost everything in the room was thoroughly worn and stained.

It was available on short notice and the price was reasonable, plus the beach is just across the street so for one night it was not a total loss. We were expecting to ride the trolley to downtown but it doesn't run very frequently so ended up walking and it was a good ways away. There are plenty of choices in the area though and we won't be coming back here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

This place bites the big one! Outdated, the room had a very noisy fridge, the toilet flushed loudly, and I had to choose which electronic to plug in- the tv or the heater! It took several minutes to reroute the only extension cord. The place had cheasy and cheap furniture, the beds needed to be thrown out and the noisy fridge kept waking me up all night with the incessant cycling!
Not a place to go, even for a hookup. I'll be submitting this place to Gordon Ramsay.

Room Tip: Avoid at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Beach Inn

Address: 198 East Grand Ave., Old Orchard Beach, ME 04064
Location: United States > Maine > Old Orchard Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Old Orchard Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Beach Inn provides spacious accommodations with direct access to 7 miles of sandy beach. We offer deluxe rooms and suites with fully equipped kitchens, private balconies, air conditioning, heat, extended cable television, telephones and much more. Located in the most beautiful section of Old Orchard, you'll enjoy the finest beach in Maine. Take a relaxing stroll along the waters edge to the town center where you will find the famous Old Orchard Pier, Palace Playland amusement park, along with many shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Grand Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Beach Hotel Old Orchard Beach
Grand Beach Old Orchard
Grand Beach Inn Old Orchard Beach, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Beach Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.